Civil Rights Picks

The Civil Rights Movement was an extremely significant time during American democracy. We had activists like Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Rosa Parks taking a stand for social injustice towards African-Americans and their treatment in society. However, in today’s political and social climate, it’s even more important to know what triggered everything and how some still feel the need to keep oppression in place.

Here are some books you’ll find in our library that can start a healthy discussion about Civil Rights, influential people, and what has changed since it all started.

A More Beautiful and Terrible History – Jeanne Theoharis
The Civil Rights movement has become a national legend as proof of the power of American democracy. This fable has shuttered the movement firmly in the past and diminished its scope. Now it is used in our own times to chastise present-day movements and contemporary justice.

March: Book One – John Lewis
A graphic novel trilogy based on the life of civil rights leader and congressman John Lewis.

March Forward, Girl – Melba Pattillo Beals
A member of the Little Rock Nine shares her memories of growing up in the South under Jim Crow.

Martin Rising – Andrea Pinkney
In a rich embroidery of visions, musical cadence, and deep emotion, Pinkney conveys the final months of Martin Luther King’s life and of his assassination.

One Crazy Summer – Rita Williams-Garcia
In the summer of 1968, eleven year old Delphine and her two younger sisters arrive in Oakland, CA. to a cold welcome as they discover that their mother, a poet and a printer, is resentful of their visit and wishes for the girls to attend a Black Panther summer camp.

Rosa Parks, My Story – Rosa Parks
The famous Civil Rights activist tells her story about the Montgomery Bus Boycott and how it affected her life afterwards.

Separate is Never Equal – Duncan Tonatiuh
Before the landmark Brown v. Board of Education, Sylvia Mendez, an eight year old girl of Mexican and Puerto Rican heritage, played a significant role in the landmark desegregation Mendez v. Westminster case in 1946.

Sit-In – Andrea Pinkney
Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Woolworth’s lunch counter sit-in, when four college students staged a peaceful protest that became a defining moment in the struggle for racial equality and the growing civil rights movement.

The Youngest Marcher – Cynthia Levinson
Presents the life of nine-year-old Audrey Faye Hendricks who became the youngest known child to be arrested for picketing against Birmingham segregation practices in 1963.

We March – Shane W. Evans
Illustrations and brief text portray the events of the 1963 march in Washington, D.C., where the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. delivered a historic speech.

Trivia Fundraiser Display

We’ve had a tremendous amount of support for our upcoming Trivia Night Fundraiser on November 16th at Bernie’s Book Bank and we’re looking forward to celebrating the next endeavors for the Lake Bluff Public Library!

Please visit our first floor display featuring some general knowledge books. We can’t tell you anything about the trivia questions, but some of these books may prove to be very helpful.

A huge thank you to everyone that has signed up for our upcoming fundraiser! If you have any questions, please contact our Community Engagement Coordinator, Jillian Chapman at jchapman@lakeblufflibrary.org.

 

Freakonomics – Steven D. Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner
Levitt and co-author Dubner show that economics is the study of incentives, how people get what they want or need especially when other people want or need the same thing.

Grunt – Mary Roach
Tackles the science behind some of a soldier’s most challenging adversaries– panic, exhaustion, heat, noise– and introduces us to the scientists who seek to conquer them

Headstrong – Rachel Swaby
Covering Nobel Prize winners and major innovators, as well as lesser-known but hugely significant scientists who influence our every day.

How Music Works – David Byrne
The co-founder of Talking Heads presents a celebration of music that provides us insight to the roles of time, place, and recording technology and explains how music expression has evolved throughout the 20th century.

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States – Sarah Vowell
The story of Marquis de Lafayette welcoming back to New York, 30 years after he left for the Revolutionary War, and the 80,000 people that came to cheer for him.

Live from New York – James Andrew Miller & Tom Shales
Saturday Night Live changed the face of television. By introducing new stars and TV taboos, it brought new meaning to American life, laughter, and politics. Dozens of previous cast members, hosts, and contributors recall backstage stories, gossip, and never before revealed struggles.

The Five – Hallie Rubenhold
Polly, Annie, Elizabeth, Catherine and Mary-Jane are famous for the same thing, though they never met. Coming from five different background, the one thing they have in common was the year of their murders: 1888.

The Monopolists – Mary Pilon
The inside story of how the game of Monopoly came into existence, its provenance by Parker Brothers and multiple media outlets, the lost female originator of the game, and one man’s lifelong obsession to tell the true story about the game’s questionable origins.

The World’s Great Wonders (Lonely Planet)
Go beyond the visual spectacle of the world’s 50 greatest wonders, and discover what makes them such amazing places.

Valiant Ambition – Nathaniel Philbrick
An account of the middle years of the American Revolution and the tragic relationship between George Washington and Benedict Arnold.

November Book Club

(November) The Great Alone
Summary: Alaska: 1974. Ernt Allbright came home from Vietnam a changed man. When he loses his job, he makes the decision to move his family north where they plan to live off the grid. Upon arriving, the Allbrights find a very independent community of men and women where the generosity of the locals helps them feel at home. But as winter approaches, Ernt’s mental state starts to deteriorate and soon his wife and daughter realizes the terrible truth…they’re on their own.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading The Great Alone, here are some other titles that come recommended. Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens, Educated by Tara Westover, Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng, Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan, Summer of ’69 by Elin Hilderbrand, An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, and City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert.

Book Club: The Great Alone is Carol’s book club selection for November. Book discussion will be held on Tuesday November 19th at 2:30pm. Copies of the book will be available for checkout at the Circulation Desk. Newcomers are always welcome! We look forward to seeing you at the next book club!

What We Were Reading #ThrowBackThursday

“What We Were Reading” is a look back into the Lake Bluff Library’s history during the 1930’s. Every week the Library published a list of books and events going on in the “Lake Forester” newspaper, similar to how we post here on our blog. This is a fun retrospective as we celebrate our centennial anniversary.

10-31-1930

10-31-1930.JPG For the convenience of members of the Parent-Teachers association who attended the October meeting and wish to read books suggested by Miss Norris, the speaker, or along the same line of Child Study I am publishing the ones owned by your library:

Young Growing Child by Bruce
Youth by Elizabeth Sloan Chesser
Psychology of Youth by Jessica G. Cosgrave
Fathers and Sons by Samual S. Drury
Sex and Youth by Sherwood Eddy
Guidance of Childhood and Youth by Benjamin C. Gruenberg, ed.
Psychology of the Adolescent by Leta Stetter Hollingworth
Psychological Care of Infant and Child by John B. Watson

The Parents Magazine
Reading with a Purpose Series
, Pamphlets
The Youth Child by Baldwin
Our Children by Martin O’Shea

A few other books have been borrowed from the Library Extension Division at Springfield, and will be available at the next P. T. A. meeting.

A few children’s books recently placed on the shelves are:

Midsummer by Katherine Adams
Secret of the Clan by Alice Brown
The Slowcoach by Edward Verrall Lucas
Girls of Highland Hall by Ranking
With the Indians in the Rockies by James Willard Schultz
Bright Face of Danger by C. M. Sublette
Story of the Greek People by Houghton Tappan

–Flora G. Coen

2020 Democratic Candidate Books

Most politicians write a book in the span of their careers, but for those seeking the presidency, it’s practically required. It’s not, but many are hoping to challenge Trump for the White House in 2020. Here are some of the books written by the current 2020 Democratic candidates that you can find at the library.

So far, nine candidates have qualified for the next Democratic debate. That debate will be held on November 20th in Georgia.

An Unlikely Journey – Julian Castro
Born to unmarried parents in a poverty-stricken neighborhood of a struggling city, Castro’s prospects of escaping his circumstance seemed bleak. But he and his twin brother Joaquin had something going for them: their mother. A former political activist, she provided the launch pad for what would become an astonishing ascent. Julian and Joaquin would go on to attend Stanford and Harvard before entering politics at the ripe age of 26.

Promise Me, Dad – Joe Biden
The former vice-president of the United States chronicles the difficult final year of his son’s battle with cancer, his efforts to balance his responsibilities to the country and his family, and the lessons he learned.

Shortest Way Home – Pete Buttigieg
Once described by the Washington Post as “the most interesting mayor you’ve never heard of,” Pete Buttigieg, the thirty-six-year-old Democratic mayor of South Bend, Indiana, has improbably emerged as one of the nation’s most visionary politicians.

The Truths We Hold – Kamala Harris
From one of our most inspiring political leaders, a book about the core truths that unite us and the long struggle to discern what those truths are and how to act upon them, in her own life and across the country.

The War on Normal People – Andrew Yang
Yang, the founder of Venture for America, brings an eye-opening look at how new technologies are erasing millions of jobs before our eyes and a rallying cry for the urgent steps America must take, including Universal Basic Income, to stabilize our economy.

This Fight is Our Fight – Elizabeth Warren
The fiery U.S. Senator from Massachusetts and bestselling author offers a passionate, inspiring book about why our middle class is under siege and how we can win the fight to save it.

United – Cory Booker
United States Senator Cory Booker sounds a stirring call to reorient our civic discourse around the principles of empathy and solidarity.

Where We Go From Here – Bernie Sanders
The Democratic presidential candidate, senator, and respected economist traces the first year of the Trump administration and what Sanders and his followers are doing to reinforce the progressive movement.

Big Little Lies Read-Alikes

Did you enjoy reading Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty? Here are some similar titles you might enjoy too! All of these books can be found on the shelves in our library.

American Housewife – Helen Ellis
Meet the women of American Housewife. They wear lipstick, pearls, and sunscreen, even when it’s cloudy. They casserole. They pinwheel. And then they kill a party crasher, carefully stepping around the body to pull cookies from the oven.

Little Children – Tom Perrotta
Perrotta’s parents of young children are a varied bunch. Todd is a stay-at-home dad dubbed “The Prom King” by local moms. Sarah is a feminst with a bisexual past. Sarah’s husband, Richard, is becoming increasingly involved with a internet-based fantasy lifestyle. Then there’s Mary Ann, who thinks she knows everything. They all raise their families in a sleepy American suburb, until a convicted child molester moves back to town…

The Gifted School – Bruce Holsinger
An entertaining novel that observes the drama within a community of friends and parents when good intentions and high ambitions pile up with long-held secrets and lies.

The Need – Helen Phillips
A thriller about a mother of two young children who are confronted by a masked intruder in their home, grapple with the duties of motherhood.

Trust Exercise – Susan Choi
In 1982, David and Sarah are freshmen at a competitive performing arts high school. Devoted to their studies, it is in these halls that David and Sarah fall innocently and powerfully into first love.

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart
Cadence spends the summers on her family’s private island off the Massachusetts coast with her cousins and a special boy named Gat. However, she struggles to remember what happened during her 15th summer visit…

You Will Know Me – Megan Abbott
Katie and Eric Knox see their daughter, Devon, a gymnastics prodigy and Olympic hopeful. For the Knoxes, there are no limits until a violent death rocks the local gymnastics community and everyone is suddenly at risk.

Young Jane Young – Gabrielle Zevin
Aviva is an ambitious Congressional intern in Florida, when she has an affair with her boss. When it comes to light, he doesn’t take the fall. Aviva becomes a punchline and shamed. She sees no way out but to change her name and move to a remote town in Maine.

What We Were Reading #ThrowBackThursdays

“What We Were Reading” is a look back into the Lake Bluff Library’s history during the 1930’s. Every week the Library published a list of books and events going on in the “Lake Forester” newspaper, similar to how we post here on our blog. This is a fun retrospective as we celebrate our centennial anniversary.

10-24-1930

10-24-1930We have added the following books to our shelves this week:

Mother Mason by Bess Streeter Aldrich
Jenny Heysten’s Career by Johanna van Ammers-Kuller
The Deepening Stream by Dorothy Canfield Fisher
Outlaws of Eden by Peter B. Kyne
One of Us is a Murderer by Allen Le May
Blowing Clear by Joseph C. Lincoln
The Sea-Wolf by Jack London
Story of San Michele by Axel Munthe
The Lucky Lawrence’s by Kathleen Norris
Fire of Youth by Margaret Pedler