National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month. It was inaugurated by the Academy of American Poets in 1996. Over the years, it has become the largest literary celebration in the world with schools, publishers, libraries, booksellers, and poets celebrating poetry’s vital place in our culture.

Here is a selection of some poetry books you can find in our library. There are many more titles in the 810’s and 811’s. If you need help, please don’t hesitate to ask our friendly staff!

Chicago Poems – Carl Sandburg
Sandburg’s first published book of poetry. Written in the poet’s unique, personal idiom, these poems embody a soulfulness, lyric grace, and a love of and compassion for the common man that earned Sandburg a reputation as a “poet of the people.”

Emerson: Poems – Ralph Waldo Emerson & Peter Washington
Ralph Waldo Emerson is one of the best-loved figures in nineteenth-century American literature. Though he earned his central place in our culture as an essayist and philosopher, since his death his reputation as a poet has grown as well.

Letter to My Daughter – Maya Angelou
Dedicated to the daughter she never had but sees all around her, Letter to My Daughter reveals Maya Angelou’s path to living well and living a life with meaning.

The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes – Langston Hughes & Ronald Rampersad
Spanning five decades and comprising over 800 poems, this magnificent volume is the definitive sampling of a writer who has been called the poet laureate of African America–and perhaps our greatest popular poet since Walt Whitman.

The Collected Poems of W.B. Yeats – W.B. Yeats
For anyone interested in the literature of the twentieth century, Yeats’ poetry demands to be read and read as a whole. This volume includes all of his published poetry, from the hauntingly beautiful early lyrics by which he is still best remembered, to the magnificent later work which put beyond question his status as the foremost poet of his age.

The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson – Emily Dickinson & Thomas H. Johnson
Though generally overlooked during her lifetime, Emily Dickinson’s poetry has achieved acclaim due to her experiments in prosody, her tragic vision and the range of her emotional and intellectual explorations.

The Complete Poetry – Maya Angelou
Throughout her illustrious career in letters, Maya Angelou gifted, healed, and inspired the world with her words. Now the beauty and spirit of those words live on in this new and complete collection of poetry that reflects and honors the writer’s remarkable life.

Young Romantics – Daisy Hay
Tells the story of the interlinked lives of the young English Romantic poets from an entirely fresh perspective―celebrating their extreme youth and outsize yearning for friendship as well as their individuality and political radicalism.

The Poetry of Robert Frost – Robert Frost & Edward Connery Lathem
No poet is more American than Robert Frost. From “The Road Not Taken” to “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,” he refined and even defined our sense of what poetry is and what it can do.

-Claire

Advertisements

March Madness Picks!

March Madness is the termed coined for the NCAA Men’s Division 1 College Basketball tournament. On Saturday March 31st, Loyola Chicago will play against Michigan and Villanova will play against Kansas. Monday April 2nd, the final 2 teams will face off against each other to determine the NCAA champion for the 2017-2018 season.

Here is a selection of sports-themed books with a focus on basketball, previous stories of NCAA wins and noteworthy players and coaches.


Cheated – Jay M. Smith
In 2010 allegations of an utterly corrupt academic system for student-athletes emerged from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill campus, home of the legendary Tar Heels.

Don’t Put Me In, Coach – Mark Titus
An irreverent critique of big-time NCAA basketball describes how the author’s ambition to become a doctor was sidelined so that that he could join the elite Buckeyes in spite of his lesser talents, which left him perpetually benched.

Dream Team – Jack McCallum
The untold story of the greatest team ever assembled: the 1992 U.S. Olympic Men’s Basketball Team that captivated the world, kindled the hoop dreams of countless children around the planet, and remade the NBA into a global sensation.

Indentured – Joe Nocera
The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has come under fire in recent years. Millions of teenagers accept scholarships to chase their dreams of fame and fortune at the price of an organization that puts their interests dead last. Indentured tells the story of a dramatic group of rebels that fought against the NCAA.

March 1939: Before the Madness – Terry Frei
In 1939, the Oregon Webfoots, stormed through the first NCAA basketball tournament, which was viewed as a risky coast-to-coast undertaking and perhaps only a one-year experiment. Seventy-five years later, following the tournament’s evolution into a national obsession, the first champions still are celebrated as “The Tall Firs.”

The Big Dance – Barry Wilner
Covered by four networks, allowing every game to be televised, “March Madness” has become an American phenomenon as anticipated as the Super Bowl. This is the story of the tournament from its beginnings seventy-three years ago as just an eight-team “bracket” to today’s sixty-eight-team format.

True Blue: A Tribute to Mike Krzyzewski’s Career at Duke – Dick Weiss
It’s been over thirty years since Mike Krzyzewski became the head basketball coach at Duke University. And on November 15, 2011, Coach K became the most successful coach in NCAA Division I men’s basketball history with his 903rd victory.

For more information about March Madness, visit https://www.ncaa.com

-Claire

Easter Picks!

Happy Easter! Here is a selection of Easter themed books for children. If you would like more Easter books, please visit our Children’s Department.

Here Comes the Easter Cat – Deborah Underwood
When Cat tries to replace the Easter Bunny, he soon learns that the job is much harder than he expected–and does not allow time for naps.

Hop! Hop! – Leslie Patricelli
The Easter bunny is coming, and there are eggs to color and a basket to prepare.

It’s the Easter Beagle, Charlie Brown (DVD)
Charlie, Sally, Lucy and the rest of the gang are getting ready for Easter, but Linus insists no preparation is necessary. The Easter Beagle will take care of everything!

Llama Llama Easter Egg – Anna Dewdney
In Llama Llama Easter Egg, the Easter Bunny brings lots of treats for Llama Llama: jelly beans, colorful eggs, and a fluffy surprise!

Pete the Cat: Big Easter Adventure – Kimberly & James Dean
Pete the Cat is appointed as an unwitting helper to a troubled Easter Bunny and races to deliver eggs before time runs out, in a tale complemented by a poster, punch-out cards, and stickers.

The Easter Bunny is Comin’ to Town (DVD)
The Mailman decides to stop another deluge of letters by answering questions about the Easter Bunny. An uplifting message that teaches children about the origins of Easter traditions such as Easter Egg Hunts, Egg Rolling Contests and Easter Bonnets.

The First Easter Rabbit (DVD)
Stuffy the Rabbit is a cuddly toy who magically comes to life and journeys to Easter Valley, an enchanted realm where it’s always springtime, even though it’s not all that far from Santa’s house. From there, the Bunny hopes to bring the first-ever basket of Easter goodies to children. Unfortunately, a cold-hearted ice creature named Zero refuses to allow such happiness. If Zero has his way, he will freeze out Easter celebrations forever.

We’re Going On An Egg Hunt – Laura Hughes
Join the bunnies as they set off on a lift-the-flap Easter egg hunt.

-Claire

APRIL NEW RELEASES

NONFICTION

 1. Beneath the Ruthless Sun: A True Story of Violence, Race and Justice Lost and Found by Gilbert King

2. Blue Moon: An American Epic of War and Splendor in the Cherokee Nation
by John Sedgwick

3. Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots by Nancy Goldstone

4. Detox Your Home: A Guide to Removing Toxins from Your Life and Bringing Health into Your Home by Christine Dimmick

5. A Higher Loyalty by James Comey

6. Magnolia Table by Joanna Gaines

7. Make Trouble by Cecile Richards

8. The Man Who Caught the Storm by Brantley Hargrove

9. Rocket Men: the Daring Odyssey of Apollo and the Astronauts Who Made Man’s First Journey to the Moon by Robert Kurson

FICTION

1.  I’ve Got My Eyes on You by Mary Higgins Clark

2. The Sixth Day by Catherine Coulter

3. Macbeth by Jo Nesbo

4. Twenty-one Days by Anne Perry 

5. The Family Gathering by Robyn Carr

6. The Female Persuasion by Meg Wolitzer

7. Varina by Charles Frazier

8. The Fallen by David Baldacci

9. Women in Sunlight by Frances Mayes

JUVENILE FICTION

1. Bad Guys in Aliens vs Bad Guys by Aaron Blabey

2. Narwhal and Jelly 3 by Ben Clanton

3. Phoebe and Her Unicorn 7 by Dana Simpson

4. Rebound by Kwame Alexander

5. River of Fire by Erin Hunter

6. Sunny by Jason Reynolds

TEEN FICTION

1. Fates Divide by Veronica Roth

2. Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

3. Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

DVDS

1.  All the Money in the World

2. Bill Nye: Science Guy

3. The Commuter

4. Genius: Einstein

5. The Greatest Showman

6. Molly’s Game

7. Phantom Thread

8. Place to Call Home: Season 5

9. Outlander: Season Three

CDS

1. Embers by Breaking Benjamin

2. Last Man Standing by Willie Nelson

3. Sunrise: The Ken Peplowski Big Band by Ken Peplowski

4. The Tree of Forgiveness by John Prine

5. Volunteer by Old Crow Medicine Show

6. You’re Driving Me Crazy by Van Morrison and Joey DeFrancesco

 

Cookbook Club – April 11th

Join Carrie Spezzano on Wednesday April 11th at 7:00pm for Cookbook Club! Our topic will be Get Baking! Let’s get the ovens going and warm up this chilly Spring month! Bread, muffins, tarts, cookies, pies, crackers…challenge yourself, and decide what tasty treat to bake for this month’s meeting!

Selected cookbooks will be on our first floor display for 2 weeks prior to the meeting. Cookbooks on the display cannot be checked out, but you’re welcome to make complimentary copies for the meeting.

Cooks Illustrated Baking Book
Definitive recipes for all your favorite cookies, cakes, pies, tarts, breads, pizza, and more, along with kitchen-tested techniques that will transform your baking.

The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion
Over four hundred recipes for baked goods, developed and tested by the baking experts at the King Arthur Flour company.

The Baking Bible – Rose Levy Beranbaum
With all-new recipes for the best cakes, pies, tarts, cookies, candies, pastries, breads, and more, this magnum opus draws from Rose’s passion and expertise in every category of baking.

Dinner Pies – Ken Haedrich
As a recognized master in the art of making pies, Ken Haedrich includes updated and perfected versions from the great savory pie traditions, including British, New England Yankee, and Southern ­- recipes for classics including cottage pie, shepard’s pie and a best-ever chicken pot pie.

One Bowl Baking – Yvonne Ruperti
Make “from scratch” baking as simple as a box mix–no mixers or food processors–in just one bowl.

The New Sugar & Spice – Samantha Seneviratne
Collects more than eighty unique dessert recipes using exotic spices, including chile-chocolate truffles, cinnamon toast bread pudding, Indonesian spiced layer cake, crêpe cake with pistachio cream, and fig and fennel seed biscotti.

Dorie’s Cookies – Dorie Greenspan
Over the course of her baking career Greenspan has created more than 300 cookie recipes. To merit her approval, every cookie had to be so special that it begged to be made again and again.

How to Bake Everything – Mark Bittman
In the most comprehensive book of its kind, Mark Bittman offers the ultimate baker’s resource. Finally, here is the simplest way to bake everything, from American favorites  to of-the-moment updates. It explores global baking, too!

Sally’s Baking Addiction – Sally McKenney
McKenney loves to bake, and now she shares her baking secrets. With dozens of simple, easy-to-follow recipes, you get all of the sweet with none of the fuss!

The Sprinkles Baking Book – Candace Nelson
Nelson opens up her vault to share the secrets behind beloved cupcakes– as well as many other irresistible desserts she can’t live without.

-Claire

Comics, Graphic Novels, and Webcomics

If you have a struggling or reluctant reader, they might enjoy a comic book or a graphic novel. While these tend to have a lot of colorful pictures, many readers (young and older) find them to be a lot of fun to read. Here are some you can find in our library. For a longer list of titles, visit http://www.bookriot.com.

A Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L’Engle
A graphic novel adaptation of the classic tale in which Meg Murry and her friends become involved with unearthly strangers and a search for Meg’s father, who has disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government.

Breaking Cat News – Georgia Dunn
Cynical, no-nonsense Elvis and shy, sweet, sensitive Puck, are the reporter kitties in the field, while the adventurous Lupin serves as anchor cat. Together they break headlines on the food bowl, new plants, mysterious red dots, strange cats in the yard, and all the daily happenings in their home.

The Complete Peanuts: 1950-1952 – Charles Schultz
A collection of Peanuts comics published in newspapers from 1950-1952.

American Born Chinese – Gene Luen Yang
Three interrelated stories about the problems of young Chinese Americans trying to participate in the popular culture.

Binky the Space Cat – Ashley Spires
Binky is a space cat – at least in his own mind. He’s really a house cat who has never left the family “space station.” Unlike other house cats, Binky has a mission: to blast off into outer space (outside), explore unknown places (the backyard) and battle aliens (bugs).

Roller Girl – Victoria Jamieson
A graphic novel adventure about a girl who discovers roller derby right as she and her best friend are growing apart

Phoebe and Her Unicorn – Dana Simpson
Come along for the unicorn ride with Phoebe, as she deals with the usual burdens of childhood and also some unusual ones. Can a precocious little girl and a self-absorbed mythical forest creature find common ground? Indeed they can, and that’s how Phoebe and her unicorn unfold!

Hilda and the Midnight Giant – Luke Pearson
Hilda finds her world turned upside down as she faces the prospect of leaving her snow-capped birthplace for the hum of the megalopolis.

The Essential Calvin & Hobbes – Bill Watterson
An over-size anthology-type book including an original 16-page story and color Sunday cartoons.

-Claire

Afternoon Book Club: April 17th

(April) The Dry
Summary:
After getting a note demanding his presence, Federal Agent Aaron Falk arrives in his hometown for the first time in decades to attend the funeral of his best friend, Luke. Twenty years ago when Falk was accused of murder, Luke was his alibi. Falk and his father fled under a cloud of suspicion, saved from prosecution only because of Luke’s steadfast claim that the boys had been together at the time of the crime. But now more than one person knows they didn’t tell the truth back then, and Luke is dead.

Read-Alikes:
If you enjoyed this book, here are some others you might like too. Forces of Nature by Jane Harper, Need to Know by Karen Cleveland, The Girl Before by JP Delaney, The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah, and The Hush by John Hart.

Book Club:
The Dry by Jane Harper will be Carol’s book club selection for April. Join her on April 17th at 2:30pm for an insightful discussion about the book. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk.

-Claire