Happy 102nd Birthday, Beverly Cleary!

On April 12th, we will celebrate Beverly Cleary’s 102nd birthday! Ms. Cleary was born in rural Oregon in a town so small it had no library. Her mother had to arrange with the State Library for books to be delivered. However, when Beverly’s family moved to Portland, she struggled to find herself a bit behind her peers when it came to reading.

By third grade, she spent much of her time reading and enjoying her local public library. She decided that some day she would write the kind of books she enjoyed, but couldn’t find them on her library shelves. This is where characters like Ramona Quimby, Henry Huggins, and her other beloved characters were born.

Beverly Cleary’s books have earned many prestigious awards including the National Medal of Art (2003), the John Newberry Medal (1984), ALA’s Laura Ingalls Wilder Award (1975), the Catholic Library Association’s Regina Medal (1980), the University of Southern Mississippi Silver Medallion (1982), and the Hans Christian Andersen Award (1984).

Here are some of Beverly Cleary’s most popular children’s books that can be found on the shelves of our library.

Henry and Beezus
All Henry Huggins can think about is owning a bicycle, and he and his friend Beezus come up with various ideas to make money.

Ramona Quimby, Age 8
The further adventures of the Quimby family as Ramona enters the third grade.

Ribsy
Separated from his owner, Henry Huggins, in a shopping center parking lot, an ordinary city dog begins a string of bewildering adventures.

Runaway Ralph
Ralph runs away looking for freedom but winds up a prisoner at a summer camp.

Socks
The happy home life of Socks, the cat, is disrupted by the addition of a new baby to the household.

The Mouse and the Motorcycle
A reckless young mouse named Ralph makes friends with a boy in room 215 of the Mountain View Inn and discovers the joys of motorcycling.

Advertisements

Cookbook Club

If you like cooking, baking, or just the way that food brings people together…this club is for you! Selected cookbooks will be on display at the library and everyone can come browse, pick a recipe (you can make a free copy too!), and then bring your finished dish to Cookbook Club! Cookbook Club will meet on Wednesday April 17th at 7:00pm

Our topic for April will be Spring is Coming! This month we’ll choose recipes that make us think of spring. Let’s showcase fruits, herbs, nuts, and tender green vegetables. Create and enjoy a simple, flavorful dish!

Visit our first floor display featuring books for this month’s Cookbook Club. You can find more vegetable themed books in our non-fiction section in the 641’s.

A Girl and Her Greens – April Bloomfield
From the chef, restaurant owner, and author of the critically lauded A Girl and Her Pig comes a beautiful, full-color cookbook that offers tantalizing seasonal recipes for a wide variety of vegetables, from summer standbys such as zucchini to earthy novelties like sunchokes.

Martha Stewart’s Vegetables – Martha Stewart
Stewart provides home cooks with an indispensable resource for selecting, storing, preparing, and cooking from the garden and the market.

Vegan for Everybody (America’s Test Kitchen)
America’s Test Kitchen addresses head-on what intimidates people about eating vegan: finding great-tasting and filling vegan protein options, cooking without dairy, preparing different whole grains and vegetables, and even baking.

Eat Your Vegetables – Joe Yonan
A collection of eclectic vegetarian and vegan recipes for singles as well as lone vegetarians in meat-eating households, from the beloved Washington Post editor and author of Serve Yourself.

The Wicked Healthy Cookbook – Chad & Derek Sarno
Takes plant-based cooking to a whole new level. Chad and Derek have pioneered innovative cooking techniques such as pressing and searing mushrooms until they reach a rich and delicious meat-like consistency.

Inspiralized – Ali Maffucci
At long last, the definitive cookbook for recipes to make using the spiralizer.The spiralizer is a countertop tool that turns vegetables and fruits into noodles. It has completely revolutionized the way we think about our favorite high-carb, high-calorie dishes, helping us make them paleo, gluten-free, low-fat, clean, healthful, and guiltless.

V is for Vegetables – Michael Anthony
One of America’s most highly acclaimed chefs gives us more than 140 simple recipes and techniques for imaginative vegetable cooking at home.

Vegetables Illustrated (Cook’s Illustrated)
We’re all looking for interesting, achievable ways to enjoy vegetables more often. This must-have addition to your cookbook shelf has more than 700 kitchen-tested recipes that hit that mark.

 

Wordless Picture Books

Wordless picture books are great for many reasons. Not only do they promote skill building and literacy, but they also emphasize a child’s ability to imagine and create a story without depending on already printed text. Here are some wordless and almost wordless picture books that you can find in our library.

Float – Daniel Miyares
A wordless picture book about a boy who loses his paper boat in the rain

I Got It! – David Wiesner
In this wordless picture book, a young outfielder imagines all the terrifying ways he might not catch the baseball, and one way that he can.

Journey – Aaron Becker
Using a red marker, a young girl draws a door on her bedroom wall and through it enters another world where she experiences many adventures, including being captured by an evil emperor.

Meow! – Victoria Ying
Using this one word expressed in a lot of different ways and expressive art, this almost worldless picture books shows a feisty young kitten who gets frustrated when her family is too busy to play.

Wallpaper – Thao Lam
A wordless picture book about an imaginary world behind the walls in Thao Lam’s signature paper collage style. It tells the story of a young girl whose family moves into a new house. Outside, she can hear other kids playing, but she’s too shy to say hello.

While You Are Sleeping – Mariana Ruiz Johnson
In this story without words, a child is sleeping while outside people carry on with their lives–working, eating, walking their dogs, and even star gazing.

A Ball for Daisy – Chris Raschka
A wordless picture book showing the fun a dog has with her ball, and what happens when it is lost.

Beaver is Lost – Elisha Cooper
Follow Beaver as he’s chased by a dog, visits a zoo, and even finds himself in the middle of a busy city street.

Chalk – Bill Thomson
A wordless picture book about three children who go to a park on a rainy day, find some chalk, and draw pictures that come to life.

Mr. Wuffles! – David Wiesner
Mr. Wuffles ignores all his cat toys but one, which turns out to be a spaceship piloted by small green aliens. When Mr. Wuffles plays rough with the little ship, the aliens must venture into the cat’s territory to make emergency repairs

What We Were Reading #ThrowBackThursday

04-04-1930

04-04-1930 adult books

04-04-1930 press clipping

This week we have placed on the shelves for grown-ups the following books:
An Arctic Rodeo by Daniel W. Streeter–A vivid picture of the far North, vibrant with icebergs, polar bears, aboriginal Eskimos, and shipwreck scenes.
The Covered Wagon by Emerson Hough–The thrill of pioneer days is in this novel, full of the clean air of the great west.
Fear by Oliver–An unusual book that grips and holds the attention of the reader and also one that carries a lucid and helpful message.
Rock Garden Primer by Thornton–Written for those who require information on every minute point connected with the making of a rock garden.
Vanishing American by Zane Grey–A romance of the American Indian.
While the Patient Slept by Jay Fultz Eberhart–Awarded the Scotland Yard prize for the best detective story of the year.

 

children's books

For the children we have:
An Island Story by H. E. Marshall
Book of Giant Stories by David L. Harrison
Burgess Seaplane Book for Children
Dame Curtsey’s Book of Games
Pioneer of the Mississippi Valley by Charles A. McMurry
Short Stories for Short People by Alicia Aspinwall
Story of Chicago by Jennie Hall
Twenty-Four Unusual Stories by Anna Cogswell Tyler
Wisp, a Girl of Dublin by Katherine Adams

Quirky Cookbooks

Cookbooks can come in all kind of varieties. Some are diet or lifestyle based, some are for beginners or more advanced cooks, and some are just plain fun! Here are a selection of cookbooks from noteworthy comedians, TV shows, and bloggers.

Cravings – Chrissy Teigen
Teigen has been traveling, modeling, and making people laugh on TV. But she’s also been collecting, cooking, and Instagramming her favorite recipes, and here they are: from breakfast all day to husband John Legend’s famous fried chicken with spicy honey butter to her mom’s Thai classics.

I Like You – Amy Sedaris
An entertaining book on entertaining from America’s most delightfully unconventional hostess, businesswoman Amy Sedaris.

The Dead Celebrity Cookbook – Frank DeCaro
If you’ve ever fantasized about feasting on Frank Sinatra’s Barbecued Lamb, lunching on Lucille Ball’s “Chinese-y Thing,” diving ever-so-neatly into Joan Crawford’s Poached Salmon or Rock Hudson’s cannoli. Hold on to your oven mitts!

The Nerdy Nummies Cookbook – Rosanna Pansino
The long-awaited first cookbook from the creator and host of the Internet’s most popular baking show, Nerdy Nummies.

Thug Kitchen: The Official Cookbook – Thug Kitchen
Shows readers how to take charge of their plates and cook up some real f**king food. Yeah, plenty of blogs and cookbooks preach about how to eat more kale, why ginger fights inflammation, and how to cook with micro-greens and nettles. But they are dull or pretentious as hell and most people can’t afford the hype.

True Blood – Gianna Sobol & Alan Ball
A collection of recipes relevant to the food and drinks seen in the episodes of True Blood.

Unicorn Food – Cayla Gallagher
To maintain their magical glow, unicorns must stick to a diet of sugar, sparkle, and everything rainbow! Take a peek into their mythical world with this cookbook—filled with more than 80 colorful cakes, cookies, and fantastical treats.

Turning Books into Movies

Here are some popular books that will soon be turned into movies. Read them before you go see them on the big screen and then you can have a fun conversation with friends comparing the book to the movie. Sometimes they turn out different from each other.

Black Leopard Red Wolf – Marlon James
Engaged to track down a mysterious boy who disappeared three years earlier, Tracker breaks his own rule of always working alone when he finds himself part of a group that comes together to search for the boy.

Internment – Samira Ahmed
A terrifying, futuristic United Sates where Muslim-Americans are forced into internment camps, and seventeen-year-old Layla Amin must lead a revolution against complicit silence

Born a Crime – Trevor Noah
Noah’s path from apartheid South Africa to Comedy Central’s The Daily Show began with a criminal act: his birth. Born to a white father and a black mother during a time when such a union was punishable by five years in prison. As Noah struggles to find himself in a world where he wasn’t suppose to exist, his mother is determined to save her son from the cultural elements that would threaten her own life.

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo
Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction–if they don’t kill each other first.

The Kiss Quotient – Helen Hoang
Stella thinks math is the only thing that unites the universe. She comes up with algorithms to predict what people buy, a job that has provided her more money than she knows what to do with, and less experience in the dating department than most women her age. Having Asperger’s and kissing reminds her of a shark getting its teeth cleaned. Her solution is to hire a professional, which she finds in escort Michael Phan.

April Book Club

(apr) georgia
Summary: In 1916, Georgia O’Keeffe is a young, unknown art teacher when she travels to New York to meet Stieglitz, the famed photographer and art dealer, who has discovered O’Keeffe’s work and exhibits it in his gallery. Their connection is instantaneous. O’Keeffe is quickly drawn into Stieglitz’s sophisticated world, becoming his mistress, protégé, and muse, as their attraction deepens into an intense and tempestuous relationship and his photographs of her create a sensation.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed Georgia, here are some other titles you might also enjoy. A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline, Rules of Civility by Amor Towles, The Library Book by Susan Orlean, Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan, Less by Andrew Sean Greer, and Lab Girl by Hope Jahren.

*Note* – We also have many books about Georgia O’Keefe and her art in our Adult Non-Fiction collection under the 759’s.

Book Club: Georgia is Carol’s book club selection for April. Carol leads an open-ended book discussion that everyone is welcome to attend. Book club will meet on Tuesday April 16th at 2:30pm. Copies of the book will be available for checkout at the Circulation Desk.