November Book Club

House at the End of Hope Street (Nov)
Summary: When Alba Ashby, the youngest Ph.D. student at Cambridge University, suffers the Worst Event of Her Life, she finds herself at the door of 11 Hope Street. There, a beautiful older woman named Peggy invites Alba to stay on the house’s unusual conditions: she’ll have ninety-nine nights, and no more, to turn her life around. Once inside, Alba discovers that 11 Hope Street is no ordinary house. Past residents include Virginia Woolf, Dorothy Parker, and Agatha Christie, who all stayed there at hopeless times in their lives and who still hang around—quite literally—in talking portraits on the walls.

Read-Alikes: If you’re looking for more books like this one, here are some to consider: The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Pepper, The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin, Trespasser by Tana French, The Coincident of the Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert, First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen, and The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan.

Book Club: The House at the End of Hope Street will be our November selection for book club. Carol’s book discussion will be on Tuesday November 21st at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

October Book Club

My Life on the Road (Oct)
Summary: When Gloria Steinem was a young girl, her father would pack the family in the car every fall and drive across country searching for adventure and trying to make a living. Gloria realized that growing up didn’t have to mean settling down. And so began a lifetime of travel, of activism and leadership, of listening to people whose voices and ideas would inspire change and revolution.

Read-Alikes: If you’re seeking more books by women authors or women’s interest topics, here are a few more you might like too. Notorious RBG by Irin Carman, The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan, The Color Purple by Alice Walker, The Handmaid’s Tail by Margaret Atwood, Just Kids by Patti Smith, and Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham.

Book Club: My Life on the Road is our October selection for Book Club. Carol’s book discussion will be held on Tuesday October 17th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

September Book Club

Last Days of Night (Sept)
Summary: New York, 1888. Gas lamps still flicker in the city streets, but the miracle of electric light is in its infancy. The person who controls the means to turn night into day will make history—and a vast fortune. A young untested lawyer named Paul Cravath, fresh out of Columbia Law School, takes a case that seems impossible to win. Paul’s client, George Westinghouse, has been sued by Thomas Edison over a billion-dollar question: Who invented the light bulb and holds the right to power the country?

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading this book, here are some more that might interest you. The News of the World by Paulette Jiles, Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann, Before the Fall by Noah Hawley, Moonglow by Michael Chabon, The Nix by Nathan Hill, and The Lost Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith.

Book Club: The Last Days of Night will be our September selection for Book Club. Carol’s discussion will be held on Tuesday September 19th at 2:30pm. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

Shark Week (July 23rd – 30th)

Every year, the Discovery Channel hosts Shark Week, a week-long block of shark-based programming. Here are some books to get you interested in sharks. You can also find lots of other shark books in the 597’s.

The Devil’s Teeth – Susan Casey
Journalist Susan Casey first saw the great white sharks of the Farallon Islands swirling around a small motorboat in a documentary. In a few months, she joined two biologists who bunk down during shark season each fall in the island’s one habitable building, a 135-year-old house spackled with lichen and gull guano.

Surrounded by Sharks – Michael Northrup
On the first day of vacation, thirteen-year-old Davey Tsering wakes up early, slips out of his family hotel room without telling anyone, and heads for the beach and a swim in the warm Floridian waters and a fateful meeting with a shark.

438 Days – Jonathan Franklin
The miraculous account of the man who survived alone and adrift at sea longer than anyone in recorded history.

The Shallows (DVD)
Nancy is surfing on a secluded beach, and finds herself on the feeding ground of a great white shark. Though she is stranded only 200 yards from shore, survival proves to be the ultimate test of wills, requiring all of Nancy’s ingenuity, resourcefulness, and fortitude.

Top 10 Deadliest Sharks -Joe Brusha
In graphic novel format, presents general information about ten of the most dangerous sharks to humans, while emphasizing the relative rarity of shark attacks and the reasons behind them.

Shark Skin Suite – Tim Dorsey
When it comes to swimming with the sharks, there is no bigger kahuna than Serge Storms. Binging on a marathon of legal movies set in Florida, Serge finds his calling: the law

Sharks & Rays of the World – Doug Perrine
Examines the natural history and evolution of various species of sharks and rays, members of the same subclass, describing their physical characteristics, feeding, reproduction, human encounters, and more.

Against the Sun (DVD/Blu-Ray)
Three US Navy airmen crash land their torpedo bomber in the South Pacific and find themselves on a tiny life raft, surrounded by open ocean. Against incredible odds, these three virtual strangers must survive storms, sharks, starvation, and each other, as they try to sail more than a thousand miles to safety.

All is Lost (DVD/Blu-Ray)
An open-water thriller about one man’s battle for survival against the elements after his sailboat is destroyed at sea.

Hungry, Hungry Sharks – Joanna Cole
A simple discussion of the kinds of sharks and their behavior.

For more information, including details about upcoming shark programs, visit https://www.discovery.com/tv-shows/shark-week/.

-Claire

Best Books of 2017…so far!

We’ve already hit the half-way point to 2018 and a lot of great books have already come out. If you’re looking for something new to read or looking to complete your Adult Summer Reading Club log, here are some titles you can find at the Lake Bluff Library.

All Grown Up – Jamie Attenberg
American War – Omar El Akkad
An Extraordinary Union – Alyssa Cole
And We’re Off – Dana Schwartz
Borne – Jeff VanderMeer
Defy the Stars – Claudia Gray
Difficult Women – Roxanne Gay
Ill Will – Dan Chaon
Lincoln in the Bardo – George Saunders
Pachinko – Min Jin Lee
Saints & Misfits – S.K. Ali
Spaceman of Bohemia – Jaroslav Kalfar
The Fifth Letter – Nicola Moriarty
The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas
The Lonely Hearts Hotel – Heather O’Neill
The Lost Book of the Grail – Charlie Lovett

For the full listing, visit http://www.bookriot.com!

-Claire

Sidewalk Chalk Competition!

sidewalk chalk
On Saturday July 22nd, we’ll be hosting our 5th Annual Sidewalk Chalk Competition! Join aspiring local artists, equipped with chalk, as they create sidewalk chalk art based on the theme of our Summer Reading Club, “Where the Wild Things Read.”

At 1:30pm, Holly Nagel returns to astound and amaze with her eye-popping balloon art! At 3:00pm, all participants can join us in the Dahlmann Reading Garden for some lemonade and a light snack. Competition prize winners will be announced at this time!

Registration forms for the sidewalk chalk contest are available at the library. You must register to be guaranteed a space in the program. If you do not register, you will be accepted as space permits on a first-come, first-served basis.

The fun and festivities start at 10:00am! For more information, please see Liliana or Martha!

Books for 13 Year Olds

Young girls and boys around the age of 13 are a tricky age group for books. They don’t necessarily want typical young adult books but want something a bit more challenging than adult fiction. Here are a few titles that may be helpful for bridging the gap between YA and adult.

Love is the Drug – Alaya Dawn Johnson
Emily Bird is an African American high school senior in Washington D.C., member of a privileged medical family, on the verge of college and the edge of the drug culture, and not really sure which way she will go. Then one day she wakes up in a hospital with no memory of what happened.

The Amateurs – Sara Shepard
Four teens who met on an online cold-case solving forum attempt to solve another teen’s murder.

Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake
Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose … it’s life or death.

Overturned – Lamar Giles
Nikki Tate’s father has been on death row for killing his best friend in a gambling dispute, but he has always maintained his innocence, and now his conviction has been overturned and he is back at the casino, where high school junior Nikki has been operating illegal poker games in the hopes of saving enough money to get out of Vegas after graduation.

Don’t Look Back – Jennifer Armentrout
Seventeen-year-old Sam seems to have everything until she and her best friend, Cassie, disappear one night and now Sam has returned with amnesia, striving to be a much better person and aware that her not remembering may be the only thing keeping Sam alive.

The False Prince – Jennifer Nielsen
In the country of Carthya, a devious nobleman engages four orphans in a brutal competition to be selected to impersonate the king’s long-missing son in an effort to avoid a civil war.

MINRS – Kevin Sylvester
Twelve-year-old Christopher Nichols and his family live on a new planet, Perses, as colonists of Melming Mining’s Great Mission to save the earth. When Landers, as the attackers are called, obliterate the colony to steal the metal and raw ore, Christopher and a small group of survivors are forced into the maze of mining tunnels below the surface of Perses

Dividing Eden – Joelle Charbonneau
Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure. But appearances, and rivals, and be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option — to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

-Claire