Scary Stories for Adults & Kids

Book Riot recently published a list of spooky, scary stories that are good for adults, as well as kids. Here are a few of the titles you can find at the library. You can find the complete list at http://www.bookriot.com.

Beloved – Toni Morrison
Sethe, an escaped slave living in post-Civil War Ohio with her daughter and mother-in-law, is persistently haunted by the ghost of her dead baby girl.

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark – Alvin Schwartz
Stories of ghosts and witches, “jump” stories, scary songs, and modern-day scary stories.

The Haunting of Hill House – Shirley Jackson
The story of four seekers who arrive at a notoriously unfriendly pile called Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky encounter with inexplicable phenomena. But Hill House is gathering its powers — and soon it will choose one of them to make its own.

The Tale-Tell Heart – Edgar Allan Poe
A short story by Edgar Allan Poe first published in 1843. It is told by an unnamed narrator who endeavors to convince the reader of his sanity, while describing a murder he committed. The murder is carefully calculated, and the murderer hides the body by dismembering it and hiding it under the floorboards. Ultimately the narrator’s guilt manifests itself in the form of the sound of the old man’s heart still beating under the floorboards.

-Claire

Advertisements

November Book Club

(Nov) Before We Were Yours
Summary: Taking place in Memphis in 1939, Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four siblings live a life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shanty boat. But when their father rushes their mother to the hospital one night, Rill is left in charge…until strangers arrive in force. Ripped away from all that is familiar to them, the Foss children are thrown into a Tennessee orphanage. They are assured they will be reunited with their parents, but they quickly realize a dark truth. Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals, Lisa Wingate’s riveting yet uplifting tale reminds us how the heart never forgets where we belong.

Read-Alikes: If you liked this book, here are some others you might like too. Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens, The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, Pachinko by Min Jin Lee, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman, Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline, and Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult.

Book Club: Before We Were Yours is Carol’s afternoon book club selection for November. Book discussion will be held on Tuesday November 13th at 2:30pm. Carol’s book club discussions are open-ended and allow everyone to contr Copies of the book are available now behind the Circulation Desk. Downloadable options can be found through MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Local Favorites: Oct. 5th

The following books are current best-sellers at the Lake Forest Book Store and can be found on our library shelves. If you’re ever looking for something and you don’t see it, please ask! We are always looking for purchase suggestions!

A Piece of the World – Christina Baker Kline
Imagines the life story of Christina Olson, the subject of Andrew Wyeth’s painting “Christina’s World,” describing the simple life she led on a remote Maine farm, her complicated relationship with her family, and the illness that incapacitated her.

Educated – Tara Westover
An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University.

Fear – Bob Woodward
Woodward reveals in unprecedented detail the harrowing life inside President Donald Trump’s White House and precisely how he makes decisions on major foreign and domestic policies. Woodward draws from hundreds of hours of interviews with firsthand sources, meeting notes, personal diaries, files and documents.

Liars, Leakers, and Liberals – Judge Jeanine Pirro
Former prosecutor Jeanine Pirro outlines a plot against the People of the United States and argues that the conspirators have the means and motive to destroy our democratic republic.

The Lake Michigan Cottage Cookbook – Amelia Levin
This collection of recipes captures the evocative food experiences of the Lake Michigan region, an ultimate vacation destination with hundreds of miles of shoreline and rich food traditions reflecting the bounty of the area’s farms and the lake’s daily catch.

Warm Transfer – Laura Holtz
Tamsen’s husband Victor owns a successful advertising agency, and his income supports the Peel’s lavish lifestyle in the uppermost echelon of Chicago society. Inside the clutch of Victor’s controlling ways, however, Tamsen has misplaced her sense of identity.

Where the Crawdads Sing – Delia Owens
For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She’s barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say.

Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One – Raphaelle Giordano
At thirty-eight and a quarter years old, Paris native Camille has everything she needs to be happy, or so it seems: a good job, a loving husband, a wonderful son. Why then does she feel as if happiness has slipped through her fingers? All she wants is to find the path to joy.

-Claire

Banned Books Week

Banned Books Week is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read. It was launched in 1982, in an effort to address the challenges to books in schools, bookstores, and libraries. Banned Books Week highlights the value of free and open access to information and bring together the entire book-loving community from readers of all types to support the freedom to seek and express ideas, even those some consider unorthodox or unpopular.

Visit our first floor display feature a number of books that have been challenged in one way or another.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian – Sherman Alexie
Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.

Drama – Raina Telgemeier
Callie rides an emotional roller coaster while serving on the stage crew for a middle school production of Moon Over Mississippi as various relationships start and end, and others never quite get going.

The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
An epic tale of fathers and sons, of friendship and betrayal, that takes us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the atrocities of the present day.

And Tango Makes Three – Justin Richardson & Peter Parnell
At New York City’s Central Park Zoo, two male penguins fall in love and start a family by taking turns sitting on an abandoned egg until it hatches.

George – Alex Gino
When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she’s not a boy. She knows she’s a girl. George thinks she’ll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte’s Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can’t even try out for the part . . . because she’s a boy.

Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher
When high school student Clay Jenkins receives a box in the mail containing thirteen cassette tapes recorded by his classmate Hannah, who committed suicide, he spends a bewildering and heartbreaking night crisscrossing their town, listening to Hannah’s voice recounting the events leading up to her death.

Being Jazz – Jazz Jennings
Teen activist and trailblazer Jazz Jennings shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while they embrace their own truths.

The House of the Spirits – Isabel Allende
A story that brings to life the triumphs and tragedies of three generations of the Trueba family. The patriarch is a volatile, proud man whose voracious pursuit of political power is tempered only by his love for his delicate wife, Clara. When their daughter Blanca embarks on a forbidden love affair in defiance of her father, the result is an unexpected gift: his adored granddaughter Alba, a beautiful and strong-willed child who will lead her family and her country into a revolutionary future.

The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas
After witnessing her friend’s death at the hands of a police officer, Starr Carter’s life is complicated when the police and a local drug lord try to intimidate her in an effort to learn what happened the night Kahlil died.

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
The explosion of racial hate and violence in a small Alabama town is viewed by a young girl whose father defends a black man accused of rape.The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence, and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina and quiet heroism of one man’s struggle for justice.

-Claire

Afternoon Book Club (October)

(Oct) Beartown
Summary: In the tiny forest community of Beartown, the possibility that the amateur hockey team might win a junior championship, bringing the hope of revitalization to the fading town, is shattered by the aftermath of a violent act that leaves a young girl traumatized.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed Beartown, here are some other titles you might like too. The Hearts Invisible Furies by John Boyne, Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan, The Dry by Jane Harper, Exit West by Mohsin Hamid, Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger, Less by Andrew Sean Greer, and There There by Tammy Orange.

Book Club: Beartown by Fredrik Backman is Carol’s book club selection for October. Carol holds an insightful book discussion that everyone is welcome to attend! Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk (usually we get several regular books and some audiobooks too).

Book Club will be held on Tuesday October 16th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room.

Supreme Court Books

National Voter Registration Month is a national holiday celebrating our democracy. It was first observed in 2012 and has been growing in popularity every year since. Held on the fourth Tuesday of September, National Voter Registration Day will be observed on Tuesday, September 25th this year. The holiday has been endorsed by the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS). It is further supported by the National Association of State Election Directors (NASED).

Our first floor display currently features some titles about government, courts, and law-related topics. If you’re looking for more books on these subjects, you can find them in our adult non-fiction collection in the 347’s.

Guilty Minds – Joseph Finder
Summoned to investigate potentially explosive charges of corruption levied by a gossip website against the chief justice of the Supreme Court, private intelligence operative Nick Heller is given forty-eight hours to prove that the story is baseless.

Injustices – Ian Millhiser
In this powerful indictment of a venerated institution, constitutional law expert Millhiser tells the history of the Supreme Court through the eyes of everyday people who have suffered the most as a result of its judgement.

Marshall (DVD)
About a young Thurgood Marshall, the first African-American Supreme Court Justice, as he battles through one of his career defining cases.

My Own Words – Ruth Bader Ginsburg
The first book from Ruth Bader Ginsburg, since becoming a Supreme Court Justice in 1993, who has had a powerful and enduring influence on law, women’s rights, and popular culture.

Shining City – Tom Rosenstiel
The president of the United States hires fixer Peter Rena to vet his nominee for the Supreme Court, but while Rena investigates every aspect of Judge Roland Madison’s background, he discovers that the judge could be the next target in a series of killings.

Sisters in Law – Linda Hirshman
The fascinating story of the intertwined lives of Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg, the first and second women to serve as Supreme Court justices.

Supreme Power – Ted Stewart
Stewart explains how the Supreme Court and its nine appointed members now stand at a crucial point in their power to hand down momentous and far-ranging decisions. Today’s Court affects every major area of American life, from health care to civil rights, from abortion to marriage.

The Advocate’s Daughter – Anthony Franze
A high-stakes story of family, power, loss, and revenge set within the insular world of the highest court in our country.

The Court and The World – Stephen Breyer
Justice Stephen Breyer examines the work of the Supreme Court of the United States in an increasingly interconnected world, a world in which all sorts of activity, both public and private—from the conduct of national security policy to the conduct of international trade—obliges the Court to understand and consider circumstances beyond America’s borders.

The Supreme Court – Brian Lamb
Through Brian Lamb and Susan Swain’s interviews with our country’s most influential judges, the book offers portraits of the Justices that introduces readers to the closed world of the Supreme Court, and what’s it’s really like to serve on the nation’s highest Court.

-Claire