Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary!

Sesame Street has been a longtime favorite of children and a staple of PBS programming since November 1969. Created by puppeteer Jim Henson and featuring his Muppets, Sesame Street has provided educational and informative lessons for children while bridging cultural and educational gaps. Characters like Big Bird, Oscar the Grouch, and Grover have been teaching children numbers, colors, and the alphabet for the past 50 years!

Here are some great books you can find in our library about Sesame Street as well as the puppeteers from some of their most famous characters.

A Visit to the Sesame Street Zoo – Illustrated by Tom Leigh
Big Bird, Ernie, and Bert explore the ever-changing zoo with Willie, a new friend whose mother works there. Bert has already visited the zoo, but Willie shows him that one can always find something different to enjoy there.

Being Elmo (DVD)
Follows the man behind the beloved children’s icon, Elmo, examining the life of puppeteer Kevin Clash.

Elmo’s Super Duper Birthday – Naomi Kleinberg
Elmo has a very special birthday party with all of his friends on Sesame Street, filled with games, activities, and a surprise at the end.

I Am Big Bird (DVD)
For 45 years, Caroll Spinney has been beloved by generations of children as the man behind Sesame Street’s Big Bird and Oscar the Grouch, and at 80 years old, he has no intention of stopping. A loving portrait of the man in the yellow suit, features extraordinary footage of Spinney’s earliest collaborations with Jim Henson as it traces his journey from bullied child to childhood icon.

Jim Henson: A Biography – Brian Jay Jones
For the first time ever–a comprehensive biography of one of the twentieth century’s most innovative creative artists: the incomparable, irreplaceable Jim Henson. He was a gentle dreamer whose genial bearded visage was recognized around the world, but most people got to know him only through the iconic characters he created: Kermit the Frog, Bert and Ernie, Miss Piggy, Big Bird.

Street Gang: the Complete History of Sesame Street – Michael Davis
The compelling and inspiring story of a media masterpiece and pop-culture phenomenon. Davis unveils the personalities, stories, and efforts of writers, producers, directors, and puppeteers that turned an empty soundstage into the most recognized block of real estate in television history.

December New Releases

Fiction

  1. Africaville by Jeffrey Colvin
  2. Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo
  3. Meg & Jo by Virginia Kantra
  4. Just Watch Me by Jeff Lindsay
  5. How the Dead Speak by Val McDermid
  6. Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid
  7. Reputation by Sara Shepard
  8. A Madness of Sunshine by Nalini Singh
  9. Dead Astronauts by Jeff VanderMeer

Non-Fiction

  1. The Book of Science and Antiquities by Thomas Keneally
  2. Disney’s Land: Walt Disney and the Invention of the Amusement Park by Richard Snow
  3. DK Eyewitness: Top 10 Iceland by David Leffman
  4. If You Tell: A True Story of Murder, Family Secrets, and the Unbreakable Bond of Sisterhood by Gregg Olsen
  5. Fighting Churchill, Appeasing Hitler: Neville Chamberlain, Sir Horace Wilson, & Britain’s Plight of Appeasement: 1937-1939 by Adrian Phillips
  6. How Not to Diet by Michael Greger
  7. Mary Ball Washington: The Untold Story of George Washington’s Mother by Craig Shirley
  8. Second City by Patinkin, Kozak and O’Hara
  9. Your Income Tax 2020: For Preparing Your 2019 Tax Return by J.K. Lasser

DVDs and Blue-ray

  1. Adopt a Highway
  2. The Bread Factory
  3. Game of Thrones: Season 8
  4. The Goldfinch
  5. Hustlers
  6. Linda Ronstadt:  The Sound of my Voice
  7. The Loudest Voice
  8. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
  9. Until the End of the World: Criterion Collection

Music

  1. 10 years- the Best of by IL Volo
  2. Fully Loaded: God’s Country by Blake Shelton
  3. Herstory by Mary J. Blige
  4. Just in Time by Buddy Rich
  5. Who by The Who

Youth Services

  1. Fetch-22 by Dav Pilkey
  2. Karen’s Witch by Ann M Martin

Native American Heritage Month

November is recognized as Native American Heritage Month. This month we pay respect to the history of Native Americans, their tribal customs, and how they have influenced our country and its history.

Visit our first floor display featuring the following titles that relate to Native Americans and their history. You can read more about Native American Heritage Month at http://www.nativeamericanheritagemonth.gov

An American Sunrise – Joy Harjo
In the early 1800s, the Mvskoke people were forcibly removed from their original lands east of the Mississippi to Indian Territoty, which is now part of Oklahoma. Two hundred years later, Joy Harjo returns to her family’s lands and opens a dialogue with history.

Future Home of the Living God – Louise Erdrich
A tale set in a world of reversing evolution and a growing police state follows pregnant thirty-two-year-old Cedar Hawk Songmaker, who investigates her biological family while awaiting the birth of a child who may emerge as a member of a primitive human species.

Heart Berries – Terese Mailhot
A powerful, poetic memoir of a woman’s coming of age on the Seabird Island Indian Reservation in the Pacific Northwest.

Killers of the Flower Moon – David Grann
Presents a true account of the early twentieth-century murders of dozens of wealthy Osage and law-enforcement officials, citing the contributions and missteps of a fledgling FBI that eventually uncovered one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.

Quiet Until the Thaw – Alexandra Fuller
Two Native American cousins find themselves at odds as they grapple with their shared heritage. When anger towards injustice escalates, the Lakota people form tribal divisions and infighting and the cousins are forced to go in separate directions.

Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher – Timothy Egan
Edward Curtis was known for trying to capture on film the Native American nation before it disappeared. Egan’s book tells the remarkable untold story behind Curtis’s iconic photographs, taking you through Indian country as he struggled to document stories and rituals of more than 80 tribes.

Standing Bear is a Person – Stephen Dando-Collins
In and Omaha courtroom is 1879, Standing Bear is chief of the small and peaceful Ponca tribe. While demanding the same basic rights that white Americans enjoy to be legally recognized as a human being, his story as well as the judge’s ruling is told.

The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee – David Treuer
A sweeping history of Native American life from the Wounded Knee massacre to the present.

Trail of Lightning – Rebecca Roanhorse
Dinétah, formerly known as a Navajo reservation, is experiencing a rebirth. Maggie Hoskie is a monster hunter. When a small town needs help finding a missing girl, Maggie is their last hope. But what she uncovers is more terrifying than anything she could ever imagine.

Where the Dead Sit Talking – Brandon Hobson
A Native American coming of age story in rural Oklahoma in the 1980s. Sequoyah is a fifteen year old Cherokee boy, placed into foster care with the Troutt family. He’s spent most of his years scarred by unstable upbringing and keeping to himself, until he meets Rosemary, another youth staying with the Troutts.

What We Were Reading #ThrowBackThursday

“What We Were Reading” is a look back into the Lake Bluff Library’s history during the 1930’s. Every week the Library published a list of books and events going on in the “Lake Forester” newspaper, similar to how we post here on our blog. This is a fun retrospective as we celebrate our centennial anniversary.

11-14-1930

Book Week is being observed through the country from Nov. 16 to 22. This is a good time for you to visit your library and become acquainted with some of the wonderful books for children.

Book Week was first observed in 1919, by the American Library association, the Boy Scouts association, the American Booksellers association and the publishers in an effort to intensify interest in children’s reading. The movement has spread steadily, until today publishers are expending greater care on the illustration and typography of books for children, and the boys and girls delight in the attractive format, and parents are much more concerned with the question, “What Shall My Child Read?”

From a collection of carefully chosen books, your child can read what appeals to him. Are you giving your children the time and opportunity to use your public library?

A good reading habit is not hard to acquire, but it should be started before the child can ready himself. We have a collection of pictures books and easy books which you may borrow any time to read to your children. Let them learn to love books now, and later they will turn naturally to the treasures of literature.

Use your Public Library during Book Week to acquire information on authors and illustrators, so that you can choose your gift books for Christmas as intelligently as you choose the pictures for the wall of your children’s room.

As W. F. Bigelow has said, “Could we give one gift to every child, we should choose the love of books.” –Flora G. Coen

YA Picks with Disabled Characters

Until recently, finding YA books with disabled characters has been a real challenge. Either few existed or main characters were viewed as helpless or inspirational. In 2003, an award was created for honoring disabilities in books for young adults, known as the Katherine Schneider Journalism Award for Excellence in Reporting on Disability.

Here are some books you can find in our library featuring characters with disabilities and how they live their daily lives with their own personal struggles.

A Time to Dance – Padma Venkatraman
In India, a girl who excels at Bharatanatyam dance refuses to give up after losing a leg in an accident.

Laughing at My Nightmare – Shane Burcaw
With acerbic wit & a hilarious voice, Burcaw’s memoir describes the challenges he faces as a 20-year-old with muscular atrophy. From awkward handshakes to trying to finding a girlfriend and everything in between.

Love from A to Z – S.K. Ali
Eighteen-year-old Muslims Adam and Zayneb meet in Doha, Qatar, during spring break and fall in love as both struggle to find a way to live their own truths.

The Disturbed Girl’s Dictionary – NoNieqa Ramos
Fifteen year old Macy, labeled “disturbed” by her school, records her life in a rough neighborhood as she tries to rescue her brother from Protective Services, win back her best friend, and find a way to tell her mom that her incarcerated father is cheating on her.

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue – Mackenzi Lee
Henry “Monty” Montague was bred to be a gentleman. He enjoys gambling, fine spirits, and waking up in the arms of men and women whom his father disapproves of. His quest for pleasure includes one last hurrah in Europe with his best friend Percy and Monty’s sister Felicity. When a reckless mistake turns into a manhunt, Monty is forced to question everything he knows.

The Silence Between Us – Alison Gervais
After moving to Colorado, deaf seventeen-year-old Maya is forced to attend a hearing school, where she must navigate a new life and prove that her lack of hearing will not stop her from pursuing her dreams.

Unbroken – Marieke Nijkamp
An anthology of stories in various genres, featuring disabled characters and written by disabled creators, ranging from established best selling authors to debut authors.

You’re Welcome, Universe – Whitney Gardner
When Julia finds a slur about her best friend on the back of a wall at school, she covers it up with a beautiful graffiti mural. When her best friend snitches on her, the principal expels Julia and her mothers set her up for a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like a total outcast.

Nicholas Sparks Read-Alikes

Nicholas Sparks is best known for light-hearted romance novels that have been adapted into major motion pictures. Some of his best known books are The Notebook, Message in a Bottle, A Walk to Remember, Nights in Rodanthe, Dear John, and The Last Song.

Many readers enjoy Sparks’ novels because they have a budding romance between the hero and the heroine forcing readers to wonder how the relationship will progress towards the end. Here are some authors who works are great read-alikes to Nicholas Sparks. If you liked his books, you might like these too!

All Your Perfects – Colleen Hoover
A story about a troubled marriage and the one old forgotten promise that might be able to save it.

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes
Louisa Clark had been living an ordinary life, until she takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after a motorcycle accident.

More than Words – Jill Santopolo
Nina Gregory has been a good daughter. Raised by her father, owner of the glamorour Gregory Hotels, Nina was taught that family, reputation, and legacy are what matter most. While her boyfriend feels the same, when Nina’s father dies, he leaves behind secrets that shock Nina to her core.

Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors – Sonali Dev
Dr. Trisha Raje is San Francisco’s most acclaimed neurosurgeon, but that’s not enough for her influential family who has achieved power by making their own rules. Trisha has been guilty of breaking all the rules, but now has a chance to redeem herself.

Royal Holiday – Jasmine Guillory
Vivian Forest has been out of the country only once, so when she gets to tag along on her daughter’s work trip to England, she can’t refuse. While excited to spend the holidays taking in all that England has to offer, she doesn’t expect to become attracted to a Private Secretary and his charming accent and formality.

The Deep End – Kristen Ashley
Enter the decadent world where alpha males are pleasure slaves committed to fulfilling  a woman every desire. At the elite Honey Club, no boundary will be left untested and one’s darkest desires will become a reality.

The Endless Beach – Jenny Colgan
When Flora trades her career in London for the remote Scottish island of Mure, she never dreamed that Joel would follow. Now, not only has she been reunited with her family and opened a cafe by the sea, but her and Joel are taking their first faltering steps into romance.

The Kiss Quotient – Helen Hoang
Stella thinks math is the only thing that unites the universe. When she comes up with algorithms to predict customer purchases, it doesn’t help that Stella has Asperger’s and French kissing reminds her of a shark getting its teeth cleaned by pilot fish. Her conclusion: she needs lots of practice…with a professional.

The Sun is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon
Natasha is a girl who believes in science and facts. Daniel has always been a good son and good student. But when he sees Natasha he forgets all that and believes there is something extraordinary in store for both of them.

What We Were Reading #ThrowBackThursday

“What We Were Reading” is a look back into the Lake Bluff Library’s history during the 1930’s. Every week the Library published a list of books and events going on in the “Lake Forester” newspaper, similar to how we post here on our blog. This is a fun retrospective as we celebrate our centennial anniversary.

11-07-1930

11-07-1930.JPGThis Saturday we have for you some titles new and some old favorites.

24 Hours by Louis Bromfield
Great K & A Train Robbery by Paul Leicester Ford
Miss Lulu Bett by Zona Gale
Fighting the Flying Circus by Eddie Rickenbacker
Up from Slavery by Booker T. Washington

For children:
Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens by J. M. Barrie
Viking Tales by Jennie Hall
When the King Came by George Hodges; stories from the Four Gospels.
Stover at Yale by Owen Johnson
Songshauks by Meader; a story of Lincoln.

–Flora G. Coen