November Book Club

(November) The Great Alone
Summary: Alaska: 1974. Ernt Allbright came home from Vietnam a changed man. When he loses his job, he makes the decision to move his family north where they plan to live off the grid. Upon arriving, the Allbrights find a very independent community of men and women where the generosity of the locals helps them feel at home. But as winter approaches, Ernt’s mental state starts to deteriorate and soon his wife and daughter realizes the terrible truth…they’re on their own.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading The Great Alone, here are some other titles that come recommended. Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens, Educated by Tara Westover, Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng, Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan, Summer of ’69 by Elin Hilderbrand, An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, and City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert.

Book Club: The Great Alone is Carol’s book club selection for November. Book discussion will be held on Tuesday November 19th at 2:30pm. Copies of the book will be available for checkout at the Circulation Desk. Newcomers are always welcome! We look forward to seeing you at the next book club!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s