September Book Club

(September) American Kingpin
Summary: In 2011, twenty-six year old libertarian programmer Ross Ulbricht launched a free market called the Silk Road, a website hosted where anyone could trade anything…drugs, hacking software, forged documents, counterfeit money, and poisons – all without the government’s watchful eye. It wasn’t long before the media learned about the Silk Road and the federal government launched a two-year manhunt for Ulbricht with no leads, witnesses, or clear jurisdiction.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading American Kingpin, here are some other similar titles you might enjoy too. Billion Dollar Whale by Tom Wright & Bradley Hope, Black Edge by Sheelah Kolhatkar, The Spider Network by David Enrich, Red Card by Ken Bensinger, The Big Short by Michael Lewis, Red Notice by Bill Browder, and Shoe Dog by Phil Knight.

Book Club: Carol will hold her book discussion on Tuesday September 17th at 2:30pm. Copies of the book will be available for checkout at the Circulation Desk. Newcomers are always welcome to attend. We look forward to seeing you at the next Afternoon Book Club!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s