Tuesday Book Club (July 18th)

charms for the easy life July Book Club
Summary: A family without men, the Birches live gloriously offbeat lives in the lush, green backwoods of North Carolina. Radiant, headstrong Sophia and her shy, brilliant daughter, Margaret, possess powerful charms to ward off loneliness, despair, and the human misery that often beats a path to their door. And they are protected by the eccentric wisdom and muscular love of the remarkable matriarch Charlie Kate, a solid, uncompromising, self-taught healer who treats everything from boils to broken bones to broken hearts.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading this book, there are some similar titles, such as Bear Town by Fredrik Backman, Plainsong by Kent Haruf, The Japanese Lover by Isabel Allende, The Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.

Book Club: Charms for the Easy Life will be Carol’s book club selection for July. Book discussion will be held on Tuesday July 18th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation desk. Downloadable formats can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s