Tuesday Book Club (August 15th)


Summary:  Born Bright is a story of reconciliation, constrained choices and life on the other side of the tracks. Born in 1970s Los Angeles, Mason was raised by a beautiful, but volatile 16-year-old single mother. From an early age she learned to navigate between an unpredictable home life and school where she excelled. By high school, Mason was caught between two world. The first involving street smarts and the ability to survive. The other involved a different set of rules focused on her success. After moving to Las Vegas to live with her grandmother, Mason figured out the college application process by eavesdropping on the few white kids in her predominantly Black and Latino school, along with the help of a guidance counselor. In the end, Mason boards a plane for Howard University, alone and scared with only $200 in her pocket.

While showing us her own path out of poverty, Mason examines the conditions that make it nearly impossible to escape and exposes the presumption harbored by many―that the poor don’t help themselves enough.

Read-Alikes: If you liked reading Born Bright, here are some other titles you might enjoy as well. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly, Born a Crime by Trevor Noah, and Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

Book Club: Born Bright will be Carol’s book club selection for August. Book discussion will meet on Tuesday August 15th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation desk. Downloadable formats can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s