Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez

wench feb book club.jpg
Summary: Wench is startling and original fiction that raises provocative questions of power and freedom, love and dependence. An enchanting and unforgettable novel based on little-known fact, Wench combines the narrative allure of Cane River by Lalita Tademy and the moral complexities of Edward P. Jones’s The Known World as it tells the story of four black enslaved women in the years preceding the Civil War. A stunning debut novel, Wench marks author Dolen Perkins-Valdez, previously a finalist for the 2009 Robert Olen Butler Short Fiction Prize, as a writer destined for greatness.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed Wench, here are some similar titles you might enjoy too: Property by Valerie Martin, The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom, 12 Years a Slave by Solomon Northrup, The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, and Between the World and Me by Te-Nahisi Coates.

Book Club: Wench is Carol’s February book club selection. Book club will meet on Tuesday February 21st at 1:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available through the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s