Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

rules-of-civility-jan-book-club

Summary: Amor Towles’ debut novel presents the story of a young woman whose life is on the brink of transformation. On the last night of 1937, twenty-five-year-old Katey Kontent is in a second-rate Greenwich Village jazz bar when Tinker Grey, a handsome banker, happens to sit down at the neighboring table. This chance encounter and its startling consequences propel Katey on a year-long journey into the upper echelons of New York society—where she will have little to rely upon other than a bracing wit and her own brand of cool nerve. With its sparkling depiction of New York’s social strata, its intricate imagery and themes, and its immensely appealing characters, Rules of Civility won the hearts of readers and critics alike.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed this book, here are some other titles you might enjoy as well: A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles, The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro, Commonwealth by Ann Patchett, Hero of the Empire by Candace Millard, My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout, and The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware.

Book Club: Rules of Civility is Carol’s book club selection for January. Book club will meet on Tuesday January 17th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s