Mrs. Kennedy and Me by Clint Hill

mrs-kennedy-and-me-dec-book-club

Summary: Jackie Kennedy’s personal Secret Service agent details his very close relationship with the First Lady during the four years leading up to and following President John F. Kennedy’s tragic assassination.

In those four years, Hill was by Mrs. Kennedy’s side for some of the happiest moments as well as the darkest. He was there for the birth of John, Jr. on November 25, 1960, as well as for the birth and sudden death of Patrick Bouvier Kennedy on August 8, 1963. Three and a half months later, the unthinkable happened.

Forty-seven years after the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, the one vivid image that never leaves Clint Hill’s mind is that of President Kennedy’s head lying on Mrs. Kennedy’s lap in the back seat of the limousine, his eyes fixed, blood splattered all over the back of the car, Mrs. Kennedy, and Hill as well. Sprawled on the trunk of the car as it sped away from Dealey Plaza, Hill clung to the sides of the car, his feet wedged in so his body was as high as possible.

Clint Hill jumped on the car too late to save the president, but all he knew after that first shot was that if more shots were coming, the bullets had to hit him instead of the First Lady.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed this book, here are some others that are related to presidential history and the Kennedy family: Five Presidents by Clint Hill, Upstairs at the White House by J.B. West, Rosemary by Kate Clifford Larson, and The Nine of Us: Growing Up Kennedy by Jean Kennedy Smith

Book Club: Mrs Kennedy and Me is Carol’s December book club selection. Book club will meet on Tuesday December 20th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s