Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

burn baby burn

Summary: Nora Lopez is seventeen during the infamous New York summer of 1977, when the city is besieged by arson, a massive blackout, and a serial killer named Son of Sam who shoots young women on the streets. Nora’s family life isn’t going so well either: her bullying brother, Hector, is growing more threatening by the day, her mother is helpless and falling behind on the rent, and her father calls only on holidays. All Nora wants is to turn eighteen and be on her own. And while there is a cute new guy who started working with her at the deli, is dating even worth the risk when the killer likes picking off couples who stay out too late?

Award-winning author Meg Medina transports us to a time when New York seemed balanced on a knife-edge, with tempers and temperatures running high, to share the story of a young woman who discovers that the greatest dangers are often closer than we like to admit — and the hardest to accept.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading this book, here are some others you may enjoy too: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner, The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge, Booked by Kwame Alexander, All American Boys by Jason Reynolds, and The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle.

Book Club: Burn Baby Burn is Eliza’s teen book club selection for October. Book discussion will meet on Saturday October 22nd at the Starbucks Coffee in Lake Bluff at 18 Waukegan Rd at 2:00pm. We’ll even treat you to a coffee, tea, or a snack. Copies of the book will be available for checkout at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s