Home Front by Kristin Hannah

home front oct book club.jpg
Summary: Like many couples, Michael and Jolene Zarkades have to face the pressures of everyday life ―children, careers, bills, chores― even as their twelve-year marriage is falling apart. Then a deployment sends Jolene deep into harm’s way and leaves defense attorney Michael at home, unaccustomed to being a single parent to their two girls. As a mother, it agonizes Jolene to leave her family, but as a solider, she has always understood the true meaning of duty. In her letters home, she paints a rose-colored version of her life on the front lines, shielding her family from the truth. But war will change Jolene in ways that none of them could have foreseen. When tragedy strikes, Michael must face his darkest fear and fight a battle of his own―for everything that matters to his family.

Read-Alikes: If you liked this book, here are some other titles you might enjoy as well.
A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman
The Life We Bury – Allen Eskens
Secrets of a Charmed Life – Susan Meissner
Me Before You – Jojo Moyes
Here’s to Us – Elin Hilderbrand
Leaving Time – Jodi Picoult

Book Club: Home Front will be our October book club selection. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall. Book discussion will be on October 18th at 1:3opm at the Library.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s