Read-Alikes: The Girl on the Train

Did you like The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins? Not sure what to read next and want something similar? Here are some suggested titles that you might like after reading The Girl on the Train.

A Small Indiscretion, Jan Ellison—This intricately plotted psychological tale slowly unveils the events of a young woman’s past filled with sordid details and sexual indiscretion culminating with an unexpected reveal.

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn—There is a reason this book was on the bestseller list for so long. Fast-paced and suspenseful this novel tells the story of a disappearance and a deep look into a failing marriage.

The Secret Place, Tana French—Another fast-paced and psychologically grueling narrative that tells the story of how a murder disrupts and reveals the calculated betrayals of relationships in a Dublin suburb.

The Other Woman’s House, Sophie Hannah—This novel focuses on what happens when an obsessed woman witnesses something awful and is personally drawn into a police investigation filled danger and suspense.

The Silent Wife, A.S.A. Harrison—A tale of a marriage gone wrong, this detailed and witty piece of suspense fiction delves deeply into the psychology of what people will do when they feel their world is falling apart.

Defending Jacob, William Landay—This psychological legal thriller tells the story of a brutal crime that shocks both a New England town and a seemingly happy family to their respective cores.

The Collector, Nora Roberts—A true romantic suspense story, this novel tells the story of a woman who witnesses an apparent murder-suicide and is then recruited by the alleged perpetrator’s brother to solve the case.

Before I Go to Sleep, S.J. Watson—This relentlessly suspenseful psychological thriller focuses on a woman who is working to retrieve her lost memories and slowly begins to realize disturbing facts about her past.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s