The Help by Kathryn Stockett

thehelp

Summary: Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who’s always taken orders quietly, but lately she’s unable to hold her bitterness back. Her friend Minny has never held her tongue but now must somehow keep secrets about her employer that leave her speechless. White socialite Skeeter just graduated college. She’s full of ambition, but without a husband, she’s considered a failure. Together, these seemingly different women join together to write a tell-all book about work as a black maid in the South, that could forever alter their destinies and the life of a small town…

Read-Alikes: If you liked this book, you might also like The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, or The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows.

Book Club: The Help is Eliza’s teen book club selection for August. Book discussion will be held on Saturday August 27th @ 2:00pm. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s