Girl Waits With Gun by Amy Stewart

girlwaitswithagun
Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart (Fiction, 408 pages, 2015)

Summary: Constance Kopp doesn’t quite fit the mold. She towers over most men, has no interest in marriage or domestic affairs, and has been isolated from the world since a family secret sent her and her sisters into hiding fifteen years ago. One day a belligerent and powerful silk factory owner runs down their buggy, and a dispute over damages turns into a war of bricks, bullets, and threats as he unleashes his gang on their family farm. When the sheriff enlists her help in convicting the men, Constance is forced to confront her past and defend her family — and she does it in a way that few women of 1914 would have dared.

Read-Alikes: If you liked this book, here are some others you might enjoy too: Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith, The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George, H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald, Journey to Munich by Jacqueline Winspear, and The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson.

Book Club: Girl Waits with Gun will be our July selection for Beyond the Book @ Wisma. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall. Book discussion will be held on July 20th at 7:00pm at Wisma. Wisma is located at 24 E. Scranton Ave in Lake Bluff.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s