Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

everythinginevertoldyou
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng (Fiction, 304 pages, 2014)

Summary: “Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.” So begins this exquisite novel about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that she will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue. But when Lydia’s body is found in the local lake, the delicate balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together is destroyed, tumbling them into chaos. A profoundly moving story of family, secrets, and longing, Everything I Never Told You is both a gripping page-turner and a sensitive family portrait, uncovering the ways in which mothers and daughters, fathers and sons, and husbands and wives struggle, all their lives, to understand one another.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed this book, here are some more you might like: Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson, The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman, The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain, Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, and The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty.

Book Club: Everything I Never Told You is our Book Club selection for August. Book discussion will be held on August 16th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s