A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

awalkinthewoods
A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson (Nonfiction, 276 pages, 1998)

Summary: The Appalachian Trail trail stretches from Georgia to Maine and covers some of the most breathtaking terrain in America–majestic mountains, silent forests, sparking lakes. If you’re going to take a hike, it’s probably the place to go. And Bill Bryson is surely the most entertaining guide you’ll find. He introduces us to the history and ecology of the trail and to some of the other hardy (or just foolhardy) folks he meets along the way–and a couple of bears. Already a classic, A Walk in the Woodswill make you long for the great outdoors (or at least a comfortable chair to sit and read in).

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed this book, you might also like Wild by Cheryl Strayed, Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer, The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown, and Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand.

As a sidenote, Bill Bryson has written many books! If you like reading this book, there are many more of his to choose from!

Book Club: A Walk in the Woods is our June selection for Beyond the Book @ Wisma. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall.

Book discussion will be held on June 22nd at 7:00pm at Wisma in downtown Lake Bluff. Wisma is located at 24 E. Scranton Ave.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s