Hold Still by Sally Mann

holdstillsallymann
Summary: In this groundbreaking book, a unique interplay of narrative and image, Mann’s preoccupation with family, race, mortality, and the storied landscape of the American South are revealed as almost genetically predetermined, written into her DNA by the family history that precedes her.

Sorting through boxes of family papers and yellowed photographs she finds more than she bargained for: “deceit and scandal, alcohol, domestic abuse, car crashes, bogeymen, clandestine affairs, dearly loved and disputed family land…racial complications, vast sums of money made and lost, the return of the prodigal son, and maybe even bloody murder.”
In lyrical prose and startlingly revealing photographs, she crafts a totally original form of personal history that has the page-turning drama of a great novel but is firmly rooted in the fertile soil of her own life.


Read-Alikes: 
If you enjoyed reading this book, here are some others you might like too:

M Train by Patti Smith
My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout
Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald
The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen

Book Club: There is no book club selection for the month of May. Hold Still is our selection for June. Book Club will meet on Tuesday June 21st at 1:30pm. Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk and you can find digital versions for download through MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s