Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

persepolis Summary: Persepolis paints an unforgettable portrait of daily life in Iran and the bewildering contradictions between home life and public life. Intensely personal, profoundly political, and wholly original, Persepolis is at once a story of growing up and a reminder of the human cost of war and political repression. It shows how we carry on, with laughter and tears, in the face of absurdity. And, finally, it introduces us to an irresistible little girl with whom we cannot help but fall in love.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed this book, you might also like Persepolis 2 by Marjane Satrapi, Maus by Art Spiegelman, or The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.

Book Club: Persepolis is our Beyond The Book @ Wisma selection for May. Copies of the book will be available for check out at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable copies are available through MyMediaMall. Book club discussion will be held May 18th at 7:30pm at Wisma. Wisma is located at 24 E. Scranton Ave. in downtown Lake Bluff.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s