The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

arr_pb_600x900-198x300 Summary: Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.

Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn’t simply about going fast. On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed this book, you might also like A Sudden Light by Garth Stein, Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, or The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak.

Book Club: The Art of Racing in the Rain is also our April 20th book club selection for our group, Beyond the Book @ Wisma. Book discussion will meet at Wisma located at 24 E. Scranton Ave. in downtown Lake Bluff. Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s