All Stations! Distress! : April 15, 1912, the day the Titanic sank

  

Check out All Stations! Distress!

Description: A glimpse into the construction of the Titanic as well as an illustrated account of the ship’s disaster on April 12, 1912, when two thousand passengers fought to survive the tragedy.

Review: All Stations! Distress! recounts the complicated, compact last moments of the Titanic’s disastrous voyage. While the book’s focus isn’t focused on children, it does provide information few details about the construction of the ship and a general sense of what happened on the ship leading to the tragedy. While the text can make this book stand on its own, the illustrations enhance the story without being overly dramatic and horrifying yet adds to the somber mood of the narrative. As the book ends, we get to peak in the lives of some of the ship’s survivors including Mrs. J. J. Brown, the Unsinkable Molly.  A brief bibliography can be found in the back of the book, but I would have liked to know where the quotes that Brown uses come from. This book would be a great introduction to the youngsters who are still not ready to see Cameron’s movie but don’t want to miss all the excitement and fuss about the Titanic.

Readalikes: The Titanic Disaster by Peter Benoit

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s