Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (by Seth Grahame-Smith) c. 2009

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith
c. 2009
[Adult Fiction]
[Electronic Resource (My Media Mall eAudiobook)]

In his debut novel, Seth Grahame-Smith takes on the challenging task of retelling a classic love story—with zombies. In this novel, Elizabeth Bennet is not only a feisty and intelligent Englishwoman, but a highly disciplined warrior determined to protect the populace from the zombie scourge. But the arrival of Mr. Darcy proves to be an unwelcome distraction from her purpose. Can Elizabeth find love without betraying her warrior identity?

Although Pride and Prejudice and Zombies has the promise of a humorous parody, Grahame-Smith doesn’t quite live up to the book’s potential. The text is definitely worthy of a few smiles, but Grahame-Smith’s humor has a tendency to become slightly formulaic after the first couple hundred pages. Grahame-Smith also relies very heavily on Jane Austen’s original text and often chooses to recycle her words rather than using his own. This is a book that is probably best suited for fans of Pride and Prejudice who are looking for a good laugh. Readers searching for more originality might be interested in Grahame-Smith’s latest novel, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.

Pros: Humorous, interesting premise.

Cons: Becomes slightly formulaic and predictable.

Review by Martha

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s