Cookbook Club: Tastes of Fall

Join Carrie Spezzano for Cookbook Club on Thursday October 13th at 7:00pm. Make sure to visit our first floor display featuring books about fall-inspired dishes. These kinds of books will be the subject of our discussion.

Dinner Pies – Ken Haedrich
Includes updated and perfected versions from the great savory pie traditions

Seasons – Donna Hay
The book builds on the trend for cooking with whichever ingredients are in season, which means you will always be eating beautifully fresh food.

Fall Baking – Michael Bell
These dessert recipes will warm up the kitchen and get you excited about cool weather.

In a Nutshell – Cara Tannenbaum
A complete guide to cooking and baking with nuts and seeds.

First Prize Pies – Allison Kave
First Prize Pies pie shop founder Allison Kave teaches readers the secrets to truly delectable pie-making with a year’s worht of scene-stealing pie recipes.

The Forest Feast – Erin Gleeson
Vibrant photographs, complemented by Erin’s own fanciful watercolor illustrations and hand lettering, showcase the rustic simplicity of the dishes. Part cookbook, part art book, The Forest Feast will be as comfortable in the kitchen as on the coffee table.

The New Sugar & Spice – Samantha Seneviratne
Collects more than eighty unique dessert recipes using exotic spices, including chile-chocolate truffles, cinnamon toast bread pudding, Indonesian spiced layer cake, crêpe cake with pistachio cream, and fig and fennel seed biscotti.

-Claire

Local Favorites – September 20, 2016

Here are some of the current best-sellers at the Lake Forest Book Store:

Molly on the Range – Molly Yeh
In 2013, food blogger and classical musician Molly Yeh left Brooklyn to live on a farm on the North Dakota-Minnesota border, where her fiancé was a fifth-generation Norwegian-American sugar beet farmer. Like her award-winning blog My Name is Yeh, Molly on the Rangechronicles her life through photos, more than 100 new recipes, and hilarious stories from life in the city and on the farm.

Hillbilly Elegy – J.D. Vance
Shares the story of the author’s family and upbringing, describing how they moved from poverty to an upwardly mobile clan that included the author, a Yale Law School graduate, while navigating the demands of middle class life and the collective demons of the past.

Commonwealth – Ann Patchett
The story of two broken families and the paths their lives take over the course of 40 years, through love and marriage, death and divorce, and a dark secret from childhood that lies underneath it all

Nutshell – Ian McEwan
Trudy has betrayed her husband, John. She’s still in the marital home–a dilapidated, priceless London townhouse–but John’s not here. Instead, she’s with his brother, the profoundly banal Claude, and the two of them have a plan. But there is a witness to their plot: the inquisitive, nine-month-old resident of Trudy’s womb.

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth – Christopher Scotton
After witnessing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, 14-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin’s grandfather. In this peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries and magnificence of the woods. The events of this fateful summer will affect the entire town of Medgar, Kentucky.

Red Notice – Bill Browder
A real-life political thriller about an American financier in the Wild East of Russia, the murder of his principled young tax attorney, and his dangerous mission to expose the Kremlin’s corruption.

Fates and Furies – Lauren Groff
A literary masterpiece that defies expectation. A dazzling examination of a marriage, it is also a portrait of creative partnership written by one of the best writers of her generation. Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets.

Killing the Rising Sun – Bill O’Reilly
Killing the Rising Sun takes readers to the bloody tropical-island battlefields of Peleliu and Iwo Jima and to the embattled Philippines, where General Douglas MacArthur has made a triumphant return and is plotting a full-scale invasion of Japan.

All the Stars in the Heavens – Adriana Trigiani
In this spectacular saga as radiant, thrilling, and beguiling as Hollywood itself, Adriana Trigiani takes us back to Tinsel Town’s golden age—an era as brutal as it was resplendent—and into the complex and glamorous world of a young actress hungry for fame and success.

-Claire

National Book Award Winners: Fiction

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization. Such writers as William Faulkner, Ralph Ellison, Bernard Malamud, Philip Roth, John Updike, Norman Mailer, Saul Bellow, Alice Walker, and E. Annie Proulx have all won the Award.

Here are the titles that have won the National Book Award for Fiction in 2016:

Another Brooklyn – Jacqueline Woodson
A story that heartbreakingly illuminates the formative time when childhood gives way to adulthood—the promise and peril of growing up—and exquisitely renders a powerful, indelible, and fleeting friendship that united four young lives.

Imagine Me Gone – Adam Haslett
When Margaret’s fiancé, John, is hospitalized for depression in 1960s London, she faces a choice: carry on with their plans despite what she now knows of his condition, or back away from the suffering it may bring her. She decides to marry him.

Miss Jane – Brad Watson
Watson explores the life of Miss Jane Chisolm, born in rural, early-twentieth-century Mississippi with a genital birth defect that would stand in the way of the central “uses” for a woman in that time and place: sex and marriage. From the highly erotic world of nature around her to the hard tactile labor of farm life, from the country doctor who befriends her to the boy who loved but was forced to leave her, Miss Jane Chisolm and her world are anything but barren.

News of the World – Paulette Jiles
A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

The Portable Veblen – Elizabeth McKenzie
A young couple on the brink of marriage—the charming Veblen and her fiancé Paul, a brilliant neurologist—find their engagement in danger of collapse. Along the way they weather everything from each other’s dysfunctional families, to the attentions of a seductive pharmaceutical heiress, to an intimate tête-à-tête with a very charismatic squirrel.

Sweet Lamb of Heaven – Lydia Millet
Lydia Millet’s chilling new novel is the first-person account of a young mother, Anna, escaping her cold and unfaithful husband, a businessman who’s just launched his first campaign for political office. When Ned chases Anna and their six-year-old daughter from Alaska to Maine, the two go into hiding in a run-down motel on the coast. But the longer they stay, the less the guests in the dingy motel look like typical tourists―and the less Ned resembles a typical candidate.

The Association of Small Bombs – Karan Mahajan
When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents.

The Throwback Special – Chris Bachelder
The absorbing story of twenty-two men who gather every fall to painstakingly reenact what ESPN called “the most shocking play in NFL history” and the Washington Redskins dubbed the “Throwback Special”: the November 1985 play in which the Redskins’ Joe Theismann had his leg horribly broken by Lawrence Taylor of the New York Giants live on Monday Night Football.

The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead
Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. Life is hell for all the slaves, but especially bad for Cora; an outcast even among her fellow Africans, she is coming into womanhood—where even greater pain awaits.

What Belongs to You – Garth Greenwell
On an unseasonably warm autumn day, an American teacher enters a public bathroom beneath Sofia’s National Palace of Culture. There he meets Mitko, a charismatic young hustler, and pays him for sex. He returns to Mitko again and again over the next few months, drawn by hunger and loneliness and risk, and finds himself ensnared in a relationship in which lust leads to mutual predation, and tenderness can transform into violence.

-Claire

September New Releases

Click on the title of the book to reserve it!

Adult Fiction

  1. Apprentice in Death by J.D. Robb
  2. Home by Harlan Coben
  3. Razor Girl by Carl Hiaasen
  4. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d by Alan Bradley
  5. Pirate by Clive Cussler
  6. Woman of God by James Patterson
  7. Downfall by J.A. Jance
  8. Commonwealth by Anne Patchett
  9. The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

Adult Nonfiction

  1. How to Make a Spaceship: A Band of Renegades, and Epic Race and the Birth of Private Spaceflight by Guthrie, Hawking and Branson
  2. Get It Together: Organize Your Records So Your Family Won’t Have To by Cullen and Irving
  3. Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly
  4. Martha Stewart’s Vegetables by Martha Stewart Living
  5. Frontier Grit: The Unlikely True Stories of Daring Pioneer Women by Marianne Monson
  6. Killing the Rising Sun by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard
  7. Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War by Brian Curtis
  8. The Pigeon Tunnel by John Le Carre
  9. All the Kremlin’s Men by Mikhail Zygar

 

DVD & Blu-Ray

  1. The Huntsman: Winter’s War
  2. Genius
  3. Now You See Me 2
  4. Captain America 3: Civil War
  5. Chicago P.D.: Season 3
  6. The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story
  7. Love and Friendship
  8. Empire: Season 2
  9. Money Monster

Music

  1. Live at the Hollywood Bowl by The Beatles
  2. The Very Next Thing by Casting Crowns
  3. They Don’t Know by Jason Aldean
  4. Notte Magica: The Three Tenors by II Volo and Various
  5. Chapter and Verse by Bruce Springsteen
  6. Idina. by Idina Menzel

Teens

Please see Ms. Eliza to put a hold on one of these books.

  1. Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson
  2. Swarm by Scott Westerfeld
  3. The Fever Code by James Dashner
  4. Kids of Appetite by David Arnold
  5. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
  6. Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

Children’s

  1. The Not So Quiet Library by Zachariah Ohora
  2. The Little Mouse, The Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear by Don and Audrey Wood
  3. School’s First Day of School by Adam Rex
  4. The Mixed- Up Truck by Stephen Savage
  5. Lion Lessons by Jon Agee
  6. REX by Simon James

 

Yeast Bread Program – Sept. 20th

Visit our first floor display featuring popular books on baking and bread making!

Chef Cherise Slattery of Hazelnuts Market shows the preparation and baking of all-natural yeast breads such as Italian batard, wheat walnut and golden dinner rolls. The demonstration includes recipes, tips and tricks, tasting and audience participation! Join the fun!

Cherise is a certified pastry chef and has studied at Elgin Community College as well as Northern Illinois University. You can find her all-natural pastries at local farmers markets in the western suburbs. She is also a pastry chef instructor at Marcel’s Culinary Experience in Glen Ellyn.

Come join us for our program on Tuesday September 20th at 1:30pm in the Spruth Room!

 

Read-Alikes: Furiously Happy

On August 17, our book club “Beyond the Books @ Wisma” read Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson. If you attended our book club and are looking for something similar, here are some suggestions:

An Unquiet Mind – Kay Redfield Robison
Jamison examines bipolar illness from the dual perspectives of the healer and the healed, revealing both its terrors and the cruel allure that at times prompted her to resist taking medication.

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer
The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Inside Amy Schumer and the acclaimed film Trainwreck has taken the entertainment world by storm with her winning blend of smart, satirical humor. Now, Amy Schumer has written a refreshingly candid and uproariously funny collection of (extremely) personal and observational essays.

Monkey Mind – Daniel Smith
A wildly acclaimed New York Times bestseller, this uplifting, smart, and funny memoir provides hope and understanding to the 40 million Americans who suffer from anxiety disorders.

Bossypants – Tina Fey
At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon — from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Laughing at My Nightmare – Shane Burcaw
With acerbic wit and a hilarious voice, Shane Burcaw’s Laughing at My Nightmare describes the challenges he faces as a twenty-one-year-old with spinal muscular atrophy. From awkward handshakes to having a girlfriend and everything in between, Shane handles his situation with humor and a “you-only-live-once” perspective on life. While he does talk about everyday issues that teens can relate to, he also offers an eye-opening perspective on what it is like to have a life threatening disease.

Me Talk Pretty One Day  -David Sedaris
Humorist David Sedaris, presents a collection of his strongest work yet, including the title story about his hilarious attempt to learn French.

Look Me in the Eye – John Elder Robison
Ever since he was young, John Robison longed to connect with other people, but by the time he was a teenager, his odd habits had earned him the label “social deviant.” It was not until he was forty that he was diagnosed with a form of autism called Asperger’s syndrome.

-Claire