Yeast Bread Program – Sept. 20th

Visit our first floor display featuring popular books on baking and bread making!

Chef Cherise Slattery of Hazelnuts Market shows the preparation and baking of all-natural yeast breads such as Italian batard, wheat walnut and golden dinner rolls. The demonstration includes recipes, tips and tricks, tasting and audience participation! Join the fun!

Cherise is a certified pastry chef and has studied at Elgin Community College as well as Northern Illinois University. You can find her all-natural pastries at local farmers markets in the western suburbs. She is also a pastry chef instructor at Marcel’s Culinary Experience in Glen Ellyn.

Come join us for our program on Tuesday September 20th at 1:30pm in the Spruth Room!

 

Read-Alikes: Furiously Happy

On August 17, our book club “Beyond the Books @ Wisma” read Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson. If you attended our book club and are looking for something similar, here are some suggestions:

An Unquiet Mind – Kay Redfield Robison
Jamison examines bipolar illness from the dual perspectives of the healer and the healed, revealing both its terrors and the cruel allure that at times prompted her to resist taking medication.

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer
The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Inside Amy Schumer and the acclaimed film Trainwreck has taken the entertainment world by storm with her winning blend of smart, satirical humor. Now, Amy Schumer has written a refreshingly candid and uproariously funny collection of (extremely) personal and observational essays.

Monkey Mind – Daniel Smith
A wildly acclaimed New York Times bestseller, this uplifting, smart, and funny memoir provides hope and understanding to the 40 million Americans who suffer from anxiety disorders.

Bossypants – Tina Fey
At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon — from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Laughing at My Nightmare – Shane Burcaw
With acerbic wit and a hilarious voice, Shane Burcaw’s Laughing at My Nightmare describes the challenges he faces as a twenty-one-year-old with spinal muscular atrophy. From awkward handshakes to having a girlfriend and everything in between, Shane handles his situation with humor and a “you-only-live-once” perspective on life. While he does talk about everyday issues that teens can relate to, he also offers an eye-opening perspective on what it is like to have a life threatening disease.

Me Talk Pretty One Day  -David Sedaris
Humorist David Sedaris, presents a collection of his strongest work yet, including the title story about his hilarious attempt to learn French.

Look Me in the Eye – John Elder Robison
Ever since he was young, John Robison longed to connect with other people, but by the time he was a teenager, his odd habits had earned him the label “social deviant.” It was not until he was forty that he was diagnosed with a form of autism called Asperger’s syndrome.

-Claire

Local Favorites – August 25, 2016

These are the current Top 10 best selling titles at the Lake Forest Book Store:

A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman
Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon—the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him “the bitter neighbor from hell.” But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time?

Hillbilly Elegy – J.D. Vance
From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of America’s white working class.

Under the Harrow – Flynn Berry
When Nora takes the train from London to visit her sister in the countryside, she expects to find her waiting at the station, or at home cooking dinner. But when she walks into Rachel’s familiar house, what she finds is entirely different: her sister has been the victim of a brutal murder.

America’s First Daughter – Stephanie Dray & Laura Kamoie
In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph–a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy.

On Trails – Robert Moor
From a brilliant new literary voice comes a groundbreaking exploration of how trails help us understand the world—from tiny ant trails to hiking paths that span continents, from interstate highways to the Internet.

The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead
From prize-winning, bestselling author Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave’s adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South.

By the Numbers – Jen Lancaster
Actuary Penny Sinclair has a head for business, and she always makes rational decisions. Knowing that 60% of spouses cheat and 50% of marriages end in divorce, she wasn’t too surprised when her husband had an affair. She just made sure she got everything in the divorce, including their lovely old Victorian house. And as soon as her younger daughter has her hipster-fabulous wedding in the backyard, she’s trading it in for a condo in downtown Chicago…

Red Notice – Bill Browder
This is a story about an accidental activist. Bill Browder started out his adult life as the Wall Street maverick whose instincts led him to Russia just after the breakup of the Soviet Union, where he made his fortune.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.”

Wedding Girl – Stacey Ballis
Top pastry chef Sophie Bernstein and her sommelier fiancé were set to have Chicago’s culinary wedding of the year…until the groom eloped with someone else in a very public debacle, leaving Sophie splashed across the tabloids—fifty grand in debt on her dream wedding and one-hundred percent screwed on her dream life. The icing on the cake was when she lost her job and her home…

-Claire

Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

burn baby burn

Summary: Nora Lopez is seventeen during the infamous New York summer of 1977, when the city is besieged by arson, a massive blackout, and a serial killer named Son of Sam who shoots young women on the streets. Nora’s family life isn’t going so well either: her bullying brother, Hector, is growing more threatening by the day, her mother is helpless and falling behind on the rent, and her father calls only on holidays. All Nora wants is to turn eighteen and be on her own. And while there is a cute new guy who started working with her at the deli, is dating even worth the risk when the killer likes picking off couples who stay out too late?

Award-winning author Meg Medina transports us to a time when New York seemed balanced on a knife-edge, with tempers and temperatures running high, to share the story of a young woman who discovers that the greatest dangers are often closer than we like to admit — and the hardest to accept.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading this book, here are some others you may enjoy too: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner, The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge, Booked by Kwame Alexander, All American Boys by Jason Reynolds, and The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle.

Book Club: Burn Baby Burn is Eliza’s teen book club selection for October. Book discussion will meet on Saturday October 22nd at the Starbucks Coffee in Lake Bluff at 18 Waukegan Rd at 2:00pm. We’ll even treat you to a coffee, tea, or a snack. Copies of the book will be available for checkout at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall.

-Claire

Home Front by Kristin Hannah

home front oct book club.jpg
Summary: Like many couples, Michael and Jolene Zarkades have to face the pressures of everyday life ―children, careers, bills, chores― even as their twelve-year marriage is falling apart. Then a deployment sends Jolene deep into harm’s way and leaves defense attorney Michael at home, unaccustomed to being a single parent to their two girls. As a mother, it agonizes Jolene to leave her family, but as a solider, she has always understood the true meaning of duty. In her letters home, she paints a rose-colored version of her life on the front lines, shielding her family from the truth. But war will change Jolene in ways that none of them could have foreseen. When tragedy strikes, Michael must face his darkest fear and fight a battle of his own―for everything that matters to his family.

Read-Alikes: If you liked this book, here are some other titles you might enjoy as well.
A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman
The Life We Bury – Allen Eskens
Secrets of a Charmed Life – Susan Meissner
Me Before You – Jojo Moyes
Here’s to Us – Elin Hilderbrand
Leaving Time – Jodi Picoult

Book Club: Home Front will be our October book club selection. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk. Downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall. Book discussion will be on October 18th at 1:3opm at the Library.

-Claire

Read-Alikes: The Girl on the Train

Did you like The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins? Not sure what to read next and want something similar? Here are some suggested titles that you might like after reading The Girl on the Train.

A Small Indiscretion, Jan Ellison—This intricately plotted psychological tale slowly unveils the events of a young woman’s past filled with sordid details and sexual indiscretion culminating with an unexpected reveal.

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn—There is a reason this book was on the bestseller list for so long. Fast-paced and suspenseful this novel tells the story of a disappearance and a deep look into a failing marriage.

The Secret Place, Tana French—Another fast-paced and psychologically grueling narrative that tells the story of how a murder disrupts and reveals the calculated betrayals of relationships in a Dublin suburb.

The Other Woman’s House, Sophie Hannah—This novel focuses on what happens when an obsessed woman witnesses something awful and is personally drawn into a police investigation filled danger and suspense.

The Silent Wife, A.S.A. Harrison—A tale of a marriage gone wrong, this detailed and witty piece of suspense fiction delves deeply into the psychology of what people will do when they feel their world is falling apart.

Defending Jacob, William Landay—This psychological legal thriller tells the story of a brutal crime that shocks both a New England town and a seemingly happy family to their respective cores.

The Collector, Nora Roberts—A true romantic suspense story, this novel tells the story of a woman who witnesses an apparent murder-suicide and is then recruited by the alleged perpetrator’s brother to solve the case.

Before I Go to Sleep, S.J. Watson—This relentlessly suspenseful psychological thriller focuses on a woman who is working to retrieve her lost memories and slowly begins to realize disturbing facts about her past.

-Claire

Local Favorites – August 18, 2016

These titles are the Top 10 Best Sellers at the Lake Forest Book Store for August 18th.


On Trails – Robert Moor
In 2009, while hiking the Appalachian Trail, Robert Moor began to wonder about the paths that lie beneath our feet: How do they form? Why do some improve over time while others fade? What makes us follow or strike off on our own?

Harry Potter & the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead
Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. Life is hellish for all slaves, but Cora is an outcast even among her fellow Africans, and she is coming into womanhood; even greater pain awaits.

All the Stars in the Heavens – Adriana Trigliani
The movie business is booming in 1935 when twenty-one-year-old Loretta Young meets thirty-four-year-old Clark Gable on the set of The Call of the Wild. Though he’s already married, Gable falls for the stunning and vivacious young actress instantly.

Our Souls at Night – Kent Haruf
In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis Waters. Her husband died years ago, as did his wife, and in such a small town they naturally have known of each other for decades; in fact, Addie was quite fond of Louis’s wife. His daughter lives hours away in Colorado Springs, her son even farther away in Grand Junction, and Addie and Louis have long been living alone in houses now empty of family, the nights so terribly lonely, especially with no one to talk with.

Avenue of Spies – Alex Kershaw
Drawing upon a wealth of primary source material and extensive interviews with Phillip Jackson, Alex Kershaw recreates the City of Light during its darkest days.

Flight Path – Scott Gration
Former President Carter introduces this gripping first-person narrative that provides significant details about six headline stories not previously revealed.

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth – Christopher Scotton
After seeing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, fourteen-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin’s grandfather. In this peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries and magnificence of the woods.

A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman
Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon, the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him “the bitter neighbor from hell”, but must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time?

Red Notice – Bill Browder
A real-life political thriller about an American financier in the Wild East of Russia, the murder of his principled young tax attorney, and his dangerous mission to expose the Kremlin’s corruption.

-Claire