Local Favorites: May 22, 2017

The following books are current best-sellers this week at the Lake Forest Book Store and can be found at the library:

Fabio’s 30 Minute Italian – Fabio Vivani
Dinner doesn’t have to be daunting. In half an hour or less you can cook up an Italian meal at home like a professional chef. In this case, just like Top Chef star Fabio Viviani. Infused with his warmth and humor, this book brings Fabio into your kitchen.

Make Your Bed – Admiral William H. McRaven
On May 17, 2014, Admiral McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their Commencement day. Taking inspiration from the university’s slogan, “What starts here changes the world,” he shared the ten principles he learned during Navy Seal training that helped him overcome challenges not only in his training and long Naval career, but also throughout his life.

Windfall – Jennifer E. Smith
Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday, she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

Saints for All Occasions – J. Courtney Sullivan
Nora and Theresa Flynn are twenty-one and seventeen when they leave their small village in Ireland and journey to America. Nora is the responsible sister. Theresa is gregarious. But when Theresa ends up pregnant, Nora is forced to come up with a plan – a decision with repercussions they are both far too young to understand.

I Let You Go – Clare Mackintosh
I Let You Go follows Jenna Gray as she moves to a ramshackle cottage on the remote Welsh coast, trying to escape the memory of the car accident that plays again and again in her mind and desperate to heal from the loss of her child and the rest of her painful past.

The Nix – Nathan Hill
It’s 2011, and Samuel Andresen-Anderson hasn’t seen his mother, Faye, since she abandoned the family when he was a boy. Now she’s reappeared, having committed an absurd crime that electrifies the nightly news and inflames a politically divided country.

Beartown – Frederik Backman
People say Beartown is finished. A tiny community nestled deep in the forest, it is slowly losing ground to the ever encroaching trees. But down by the lake stands an old ice rink, built generations ago by the working men who founded this town. And in that ice rink is the reason people in Beartown believe tomorrow will be better than today. Their junior ice hockey team is about to compete in the national semi-finals, and they actually have a shot at winning.

Lilac Girls – Martha Hall Kelly
New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

Shattered – Jonathan Allen & Amie Parnes
It was never supposed to be this close. And of course she was supposed to win. How Hillary Clinton lost the 2016 election to Donald Trump is the riveting story of a sure thing gone off the rails. For every Comey revelation or hindsight acknowledgment about the electorate, no explanation of defeat can begin with anything other than the core problem of Hillary’s campaign–the candidate herself.

Beyond the Bright Sea – Lauren Wolk
Twelve-year-old Crow has lived her entire life on a tiny, isolated piece of the starkly beautiful Elizabeth Islands in Massachusetts. Abandoned and set adrift in a small boat when she was just hours old, Crow’s only companions are Osh, the man who rescued and raised her, and Miss Maggie, their fierce and affectionate neighbor across the sandbar.

-Claire

Watercolors & Mocktails

On Thursday May 25th at 7:00pm, come to the library and relax with friends, sip a cool drink and try your hand at watercolors! Join us for a laid-back evening of drawing and painting with watercolor pencils. Learn a few techniques, then sit back and enjoy a non-alcoholic beverage while you create a wonderful work of art!

Visit our first floor display featuring some books on watercolor painting and cocktails/mocktails!

Registration is required for the program. Please contact the library for more information.


Cocktails Made Easy – Simon Difford
For anyone overwhelmed by the more than 3,000 recipes — and all the ingredients necessary to create them — in his master-book, Cocktails Made Easy is the perfect guide to making cocktails more easily.

Flowers in Watercolour – Wendy Tait
A close and personal look at how Wendy Tait paints flowers with her loose, fresh and imaginative approach. With close examination and showcasing dozens of Wendy’s beautiful flower paintings, the book includes information on all aspects on painting flowers in watercolour, from gathering your reference, composition, and the practicalities of paint – all clearly explained in Wendy’s down-to-earth and inclusive style.

Let’s Bring Back: The Cocktail Edition – Lesley M.M. Blume
A compendium of long-forgotten libations due for a revival. Culled from ancient times through the 1960s, these delectable vintage cocktails are by turns fizzy and silken, sweet and tart, lethal and prim. Some of them are absurd, several are sentimental, while others are outright scandalous.

My Year in Cocktails – John Cusimano
The second half of Rachael Ray’s My Year in Meals book, Rachael’s husband and manager John Cusimano will be contributing to the book with a section devoted to his personal delicious cocktail recipes including the Fruita de Bosca, the Strawberry Velvet, and the Ginger Mule.

Painting the Things You Love in Watercolor – Adele Earnshaw
Adele Earnshaw’s paintings defy categorization. The uniqueness comes from her penchant for combining colourful and nostalgic items like handmade quilts, china and lace with small songbirds or kittens and bathing them all in beautiful sunlight.

Watercolor Painting Outside the Lines – Linda Kemp
Breathe new life into your art through negative painting. Linda Kemp shares her techniques for using the strength of negative space – the areas not occupied by subject matter – to create alluring works of art.

Watercolours Made Easy – Hazel Harrison
This complete guide provides invaluable insight into the world of watercolor, with practical advice on all the materials, techniques and methods that any beginner will need. There are inspirational projects to follow plus expert ideas and advice on all the latest approaches.

Watercolour Landscapes – Richard Taylor
An experienced artist and teacher uses stunning examples of his own work to explain every facet of watercolor landscape painting. Explore the wide range of effects possible with different brushstrokes and washes, such as blotting and sponging to produce texture and working with color to suggest movement.

-Claire

Tuesday Book Club (August 15th)


Summary:  Born Bright is a story of reconciliation, constrained choices and life on the other side of the tracks. Born in 1970s Los Angeles, Mason was raised by a beautiful, but volatile 16-year-old single mother. From an early age she learned to navigate between an unpredictable home life and school where she excelled. By high school, Mason was caught between two world. The first involving street smarts and the ability to survive. The other involved a different set of rules focused on her success. After moving to Las Vegas to live with her grandmother, Mason figured out the college application process by eavesdropping on the few white kids in her predominantly Black and Latino school, along with the help of a guidance counselor. In the end, Mason boards a plane for Howard University, alone and scared with only $200 in her pocket.

While showing us her own path out of poverty, Mason examines the conditions that make it nearly impossible to escape and exposes the presumption harbored by many―that the poor don’t help themselves enough.

Read-Alikes: If you liked reading Born Bright, here are some other titles you might enjoy as well. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly, Born a Crime by Trevor Noah, and Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

Book Club: Born Bright will be Carol’s book club selection for August. Book discussion will meet on Tuesday August 15th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation desk. Downloadable formats can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

Tuesday Book Club (July 18th)

charms for the easy life July Book Club
Summary: A family without men, the Birches live gloriously offbeat lives in the lush, green backwoods of North Carolina. Radiant, headstrong Sophia and her shy, brilliant daughter, Margaret, possess powerful charms to ward off loneliness, despair, and the human misery that often beats a path to their door. And they are protected by the eccentric wisdom and muscular love of the remarkable matriarch Charlie Kate, a solid, uncompromising, self-taught healer who treats everything from boils to broken bones to broken hearts.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading this book, there are some similar titles, such as Bear Town by Fredrik Backman, Plainsong by Kent Haruf, The Japanese Lover by Isabel Allende, The Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.

Book Club: Charms for the Easy Life will be Carol’s book club selection for July. Book discussion will be held on Tuesday July 18th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation desk. Downloadable formats can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

Tuesday Book Club (June 20th)


Summary – Amsterdam, 1631: Sara de Vos becomes the first woman to be admitted as a master painter to the city’s Guild of St. Luke. Though women do not paint landscapes (they are generally restricted to indoor subjects), a wintry outdoor scene haunts Sara: She cannot shake the image of a young girl from a nearby village, standing alone beside a silver birch at dusk, staring out at a group of skaters on the frozen river below. Defying the expectations of her time, she decides to paint it.

Read-Alikes – If you liked this book, here are some others you might enjoy too: A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles, News of the World by Paulette Jiles, LaRose by Louise Erdrich, Barkskins by Annie Proulx, Commonwealth by Ann Patchett, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck, and The Stars Are Fire by Anita Shreve.

Book Club – The Last Painting of Sara De Vos will be Carol’s book club selection for June. Book Discussion will be held on Tuesday June 20th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available behind the Circulation Desk. Downloadable formats can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

Cheese Making (Friday May 12th)

On Friday May 12th at 1:30pm, Mark Lyons, an experienced home cheese maker, will demostrate the art and science of cheese making, so you too can make cheese in your own kitchen. After all, good cheese tastes better when you make it yourself!

Visit our first floor display featuring books on cheese making and how to make other foods from scratch in your own home. For more details including registration for the cheese making program, please call the library.

Ad Hoc at Home – Thomas Keller
A cookbook inspired by the menu of his casual restaurant Ad Hoc in Yountville, Thomas Keller showcases more than 200 recipes for family-style meals. This is Keller at his most playful, serving up such truck-stop classics as Potato Hash with Bacon and Melted Onions and grilled-cheese sandwiches, and heartier fare including beef Stroganoff and roasted spring leg of lamb.

Real Food, Fake Food – Larry Olmsted
Award-winning journalist Larry Olmsted convinces us why real food matters and empowers consumers to make smarter choices. Olmsted brings readers into the unregulated food industry, revealing the shocking deception that extends from high-end foods like olive oil, wine, and Kobe beef to everyday staples such as coffee, honey, juice, and cheese. It’s a massive bait and switch in which counterfeiting is rampant and in which the consumer ultimately pays the price.

The Science of Good Cooking – Cook’s Illustrated magazine
Unlock a lifetime of successful cooking with this groundbreaking new volume from the editors of Cook’s Illustrated, the magazine that put food science on the map. Organized around 50 core principles our test cooks use to develop foolproof recipes, The Science of Good Cooking is a radical new approach to teaching the fundamentals of the kitchen.

Artisan Cheese Making at Home – Mary Karlin
The most ambitious and comprehensive guide to home cheese making, filled with easy-to-follow instructions for making mouthwatering cheese and dairy items.

The Big Fat Surprise – Nina Teicholz
investigative journalist Nina Teicholz reveals the unthinkable: that everything we thought we knew about dietary fat is wrong. She documents how the low-fat nutrition advice of the past sixty years has amounted to a vast uncontrolled experiment on the entire population, with disastrous consequences for our health.

Pandora’s Lunchbox – Melanie Warner
New York Times business reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that took her to research labs, university food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening—and sometimes disturbing—account of what we’re really eating.

The Complete Guide to Making Cheese, Butter, and Yogurt at Home – Rick Helweg
Since the earliest human civilizations in the west, milk has been gathered from domesticated animals such as the goat, sheep, and cow to create a wide variety of high protein and tasty foods including cheese, butter, and yogurt. With more than 3,000 kinds of cheese registered to the FDA and dozens of different recipes for butter and yogurt available, many people see great opportunities both to save money and to make a little profit in creating their own milk based products. The secret to making these products all lies in the recipes you have and the steps you take though.

The Telling Room – Michael Paterniti
In the picturesque village of Guzmán, Spain, in a cave on the edge of town, there is a cramped limestone chamber known as “the telling room.” This is where villagers have gathered for centuries to share their stories and secrets–usually accompanied by copious amounts of wine. It was here, in the summer of 2000, that Michael Paterniti found himself listening to a Spanish cheesemaker as he spun an odd and compelling tale about a piece of cheese.

-Claire

Magical Realism Genre

Magical Realism is a genre that many readers are confused about. It lies somewhere between fantasy and reality, and some readers confuse it with urban fantasy and other fiction genres. While some enjoy these kinds of books, others push them away. Books in this category are a combination of realism and wondering about what actually happened in the story.

Below are some books that fit in this category that you can find at the Library:

One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Tells the story of the rise and fall, birth and death of the mythical town of Macondo through the history of the Buendia family. Inventive, amusing, magnetic, sad, and alive with unforgettable men and women—brimming with truth, compassion, and a lyrical magic that strikes the soul—this novel is a masterpiece in the art of fiction.

Like Water for Chocolate – Laura Esquivel
Earthy, magical, and utterly charming, this tale of family life in tum-of-the-century Mexico became a best-selling phenomenon with its winning blend of poignant romance and bittersweet wit.

Their Eyes Were Watching God – Zora Neale Hurston
When Janie, at sixteen, is caught kissing shiftless Johnny Taylor, her grandmother swiftly marries her off to an old man with sixty acres. Janie endures two stifling marriages before meeting the man of her dreams, who offers not diamonds, but a packet of flowering seeds…

Beloved – Toni Morrison
Sethe was born a slave and escaped to Ohio, but eighteen years later she is still not free. She has too many memories of Sweet Home, the beautiful farm where so many hideous things happened. Her new home is haunted by the ghost of her baby, who died nameless and whose tombstone is engraved with a single word: Beloved.

The House of the Spirits – Isabel Allende
Here is patriarch Esteban, whose wild desires and political machinations are tempered only by his love for his ethereal wife, Clara, a woman touched by an otherworldly hand. Their daughter, Blanca, whose forbidden love for a man Esteban has deemed unworthy infuriates her father, yet will produce his greatest joy: his granddaughter Alba, a beautiful, ambitious girl who will lead the family and their country into a revolutionary future.

The Master & Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov
Mikhail Bulgakov’s devastating satire of Soviet life was written during the darkest period of Stalin’s regime. Combining two distinct yet interwoven parts—one set in ancient Jerusalem, one in contemporary Moscow

-Claire