Switch Games are Here!!

After much demand, Nintendo Switch games are available for checkout at the Lake Bluff Library! Nintendo Switch games can only be played on the Switch console. If there are any other Switch games you’d like to see in our collection, please let us know!

Advertisements

Afternoon Book Club (October)

(Oct) Beartown
Summary: In the tiny forest community of Beartown, the possibility that the amateur hockey team might win a junior championship, bringing the hope of revitalization to the fading town, is shattered by the aftermath of a violent act that leaves a young girl traumatized.

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed Beartown, here are some other titles you might like too. The Hearts Invisible Furies by John Boyne, Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan, The Dry by Jane Harper, Exit West by Mohsin Hamid, Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger, Less by Andrew Sean Greer, and There There by Tammy Orange.

Book Club: Beartown by Fredrik Backman is Carol’s book club selection for October. Carol holds an insightful book discussion that everyone is welcome to attend! Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk (usually we get several regular books and some audiobooks too).

Book Club will be held on Tuesday October 16th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room.

Supreme Court Books

National Voter Registration Month is a national holiday celebrating our democracy. It was first observed in 2012 and has been growing in popularity every year since. Held on the fourth Tuesday of September, National Voter Registration Day will be observed on Tuesday, September 25th this year. The holiday has been endorsed by the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS). It is further supported by the National Association of State Election Directors (NASED).

Our first floor display currently features some titles about government, courts, and law-related topics. If you’re looking for more books on these subjects, you can find them in our adult non-fiction collection in the 347’s.

Guilty Minds – Joseph Finder
Summoned to investigate potentially explosive charges of corruption levied by a gossip website against the chief justice of the Supreme Court, private intelligence operative Nick Heller is given forty-eight hours to prove that the story is baseless.

Injustices – Ian Millhiser
In this powerful indictment of a venerated institution, constitutional law expert Millhiser tells the history of the Supreme Court through the eyes of everyday people who have suffered the most as a result of its judgement.

Marshall (DVD)
About a young Thurgood Marshall, the first African-American Supreme Court Justice, as he battles through one of his career defining cases.

My Own Words – Ruth Bader Ginsburg
The first book from Ruth Bader Ginsburg, since becoming a Supreme Court Justice in 1993, who has had a powerful and enduring influence on law, women’s rights, and popular culture.

Shining City – Tom Rosenstiel
The president of the United States hires fixer Peter Rena to vet his nominee for the Supreme Court, but while Rena investigates every aspect of Judge Roland Madison’s background, he discovers that the judge could be the next target in a series of killings.

Sisters in Law – Linda Hirshman
The fascinating story of the intertwined lives of Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg, the first and second women to serve as Supreme Court justices.

Supreme Power – Ted Stewart
Stewart explains how the Supreme Court and its nine appointed members now stand at a crucial point in their power to hand down momentous and far-ranging decisions. Today’s Court affects every major area of American life, from health care to civil rights, from abortion to marriage.

The Advocate’s Daughter – Anthony Franze
A high-stakes story of family, power, loss, and revenge set within the insular world of the highest court in our country.

The Court and The World – Stephen Breyer
Justice Stephen Breyer examines the work of the Supreme Court of the United States in an increasingly interconnected world, a world in which all sorts of activity, both public and private—from the conduct of national security policy to the conduct of international trade—obliges the Court to understand and consider circumstances beyond America’s borders.

The Supreme Court – Brian Lamb
Through Brian Lamb and Susan Swain’s interviews with our country’s most influential judges, the book offers portraits of the Justices that introduces readers to the closed world of the Supreme Court, and what’s it’s really like to serve on the nation’s highest Court.

-Claire

Local Favorites (Sept. 6th)

The following books are current best-sellers this week at the Lake Forest Book Store and can also be found on the shelves of our library!

Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan
Envisioning a summer vacation in the humble Singapore home of a boy she hopes to marry, Chinese American Rachel Chu is unexpectedly introduced to a rich and scheming clan that strongly opposes their son’s relationship with an American girl.

Dog Man: Lord of the Fleas – Dav Pilkey
When a new bunch of baddies bust up the town, Dog Man is called into action! With a cute kitten and a remarkable robot by his side, our heroes must save the day by joining forces with an unlikely ally: Petey, the World’s Most Evil Cat. But can the villainous Petey avoid vengeance and venture into virtue?

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine – Gail Honeyman
Eleanor struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking. Nothing is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding social interactions, but everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and deeply unhygienic IT guy from her office.

Nine Women, One Dress – Jane L. Rosen
A charming, hilarious, irresistible romp of a novel that brings together nine unrelated women, each touched by the same little black dress that weaves through their lives, bringing a little magic with it.

Pachinko – Min Jin Lee
The story of one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all.

The Great Believers – Rebecca Makkai
A dazzling new novel of friendship and redemption in the face of tragedy and loss set in 1980s Chicago and contemporary Paris.

The Heart’s Invisible Furies – John Boyne
Adopted by a well-to-do Dublin couple who remind him that he is not a real member of their family, Cyril embarks on a journey to find himself and where he came from, discovering his identity, a home, a country, and much more throughout a long lifetime.

The Leopold & Loeb Files – Nina Barrett
In 1924, University of Chicago students Nathan Leopold and Richard Loeb were young, rich, and looking for a thrill. The brutal, cold-blood murder of 14-year-old Bobby Franks would come to captivate the country and unfold into what many dubbed the crime of the century.

Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One – Raphaelle Giordano
Paris native Camille has everything she needs to be happy, or so it seems. All she wants is to find the path to joy. When Claude, a French Sean Connery look-alike and routinologist, offers his unique advice to help get her there, she seizes the opportunity with both hands.

-Claire

John McCain (1936-2018)

John McCain was an American politician and naval officer who served as a member of the House of Representatives and ran for President, but lost to Barack Obama in 2008. Throughout his long naval career, he was an aviator during the Vietnam War getting involved in some of the most intense battles that left him with lifelong disabilities. During the 1980s, he served two terms in the House of Representatives and 2 terms as a US Senator representing Arizona.

Among other accomplishments, McCain was known for being vocal about today’s political issues such as health care, the war in Iraq, and the current policies of President Donald Trump.

Here are a small selection of books written by John McCain as well as others that are related. You can find all these titles on our library shelves.

13 Soldiers – John McCain & Mark Salter
An evocative history of Americans at war through the personal accounts of 13 remarkable soldiers who fought in major military conflicts, from the Revolutionary War to the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Dirty Sexy Politics – Meghan McCain
McCain, one of the Republican party’s most outspoken young members writes about her experiences on the presidential campaign trail with her father, John McCain, how the party has veered so far off track, and why she is still a Republican.

Faith of My Fathers – John McCain & Mark Salter
The powerful story of a war hero. As McCain instructs us: Glory is not an end in itself, but rather a reward for valor and faith. And the greatest freedom and human fulfillment comes from engaging in a noble enterprise larger than oneself.

Game Change – John Heilemann & Mark Halperin
From two of the best political reporters in the country comes the gripping inside story of the historic 2008 presidential election.

The Restless Wave – John McCain
A candid new political memoir from Senator John McCain covering everything from 2008 up to the present.

Worth the Fighting For – John McCain & Mark Salter
The story about McCain’s great American journey from the U.S. Navy to his electrifying run for the presidency, interwoven with heartfelt portraits of the mavericks who have inspired him through the years, including Ted Williams, Theodore Roosevelt, and Marlon Brando.

-Claire

September New Releases

Fiction

  1. Red War  by Vince Flynn & Kyle Mills
  2. Leverage in Death by J.D. Robb
  3. Lies by T.M. Logan
  4. When the Lights Go Out by Mary Kubica
  5. Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen by Sarah Bird
  6. Transcription by Kate Atkinson
  7. Lake Success by Gary Shteyngart
  8. The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton
  9. Lethal White by Robert Galbraith

Non-Fiction

  1. Accessory to War by Neil deGrasse Tyson
  2. Art in Chicago: A History from the Fire to Now by Maggie Taft
  3. The Browns of California by Miriam Pawel
  4. The Coddling of the American Mind by Greg Lukianoff
  5. Eliza Hamilton by Tilar Mazzeo
  6. The Escape Artists by Neal Bascomb
  7. Fashion Climbing: A Memoir with Photographs by Bill Cunningham
  8. The Good Neighbor: The Life and Work of Fred Rogers by Max King
  9. Whiskey in a Teacup by Reese Witherspoon

Movies

  1. Adrift
  2. But Not for Me
  3. Hillary: Everest and Beyond
  4. Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
  5. Madam Secretary: Season Four
  6. The Mayo Clinic: Faith, Hope and Science
  7. Ocean’s Eight
  8. This is Us: Season Two
  9. Won’t You be My Neighbor?

Music

  1. An American Treasure by Tom Petty
  2. Broadway by Renee Fleming
  3. Cry Pretty by Carrie Underwood
  4. Look Up Child by Lauren Daigle
  5. Raise Vibration by Lenny Kravitz
  6. Redemption by Joe Bonamassa

Teen

  1. Wildcard by Marie Lu
  2. Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake
  3. People Kill People by Ellen Hopkins

Children’s

  1. Amulet: Supernova (Book 8) by Kazu Kibuishi
  2. Unbelievably Boring Bart by James Patterson
  3. Someone Else’s Shoes by Ellen Wittlinger
  4. Golden Tower by Holly Black
  5. Sweep by Jonathan Auxier
  6. 24 Hours in Nowhere by Dusti Bowling

Local Favorites: Sept. 22nd

As the summer comes to a end and the kids head back to school, you might be looking for a new book to read. Here are this week’s current best-sellers at the Lake Forest Book Store. All of these titles can also be found on our library shelves!

A Piece of the World – Christina Baker Kline
The life story of Christina Olson, the subject of Andrew Wyeth’s painting “Christina’s World,” describing the simple life she led on a remote Maine farm, her complicated relationship with her family, and the illness that incapacitated her.

Ali: A Life – Jonathan Eig
Based on more than 500 interviews, including Muhammad Ali’s closest associates, and enhanced by access to thousands of pages of newly released FBI records, this is a thrilling story of a man who became one of the great figures of the twentieth century.

Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan
Envisioning a summer vacation in the humble Singapore home of a boy she hopes to marry, Chinese American Rachel Chu is unexpectedly introduced to a rich and scheming clan that strongly opposes their son’s relationship with an American girl.

Educated – Tara Westover
Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, Westover’s family was so isolated from mainstream society that there was no one to ensure the children received an education, and no one to intervene when one of Tara’s older brothers became violent. As a way out, Tara began to educate herself, learning enough mathematics and grammar to be admitted to Brigham Young University.

Killers of the Flower Moon – David Grann
Presents a true account of the early twentieth-century murders of dozens of wealthy Osage and law-enforcement officials, citing the contributions and missteps of a fledgling FBI that eventually uncovered one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk – Kathleen Rooney
Paints a portrait of a remarkable woman across the canvas of a changing America: from the Jazz Age to the onset of the AIDS epidemic; the Great Depression to the birth of hip-hop.

Midnight Blue – Simone van der Vlugt
Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five-year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Madam Van Nulandt passes her time taking expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin, and when Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress’s work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue.

Saints for All Occasions – J. Courtney Sullivan
A sweeping novel about two sisters–one the matriarch of a boisterous Irish Catholic family, the other a cloistered nun, hidden from the world–and the secret that drove them apart

Where the Crawdads Sing – Delia Owens
For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She’s barefoot, wild, and unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of firefliesthe real way of this world.

-Claire