National Read a Book Day

National-Read-a-Book-Day-September-6

National Read A Book Day is observed annually on September 6th.  On August 9th, we all celebrated National Book Lovers Day.  While these bookish days may seem similar, National Read a Book Day invites us ALL to grab a book we might enjoy and spend the day reading.

Don’t keep it to yourself.  Share the experience!  Read aloud either to children or to grandparents.  Read to your pets or to your stuffed animals and plants.

Reading improves memory and concentration as well as reduces stress.   Older adults who spend time reading show a slower cognitive decline and tend to participate in more mentally stimulating activities over their lifetime.  Books are an inexpensive entertainment, education and time machine, too!

Sit back, relax and read a book.  Use #ReadABookDay to post on social media.

If you’re looking for a new book to read, stop by Lake Bluff Library and check out everything we have to offer!

-Claire

Advertisements

Local Favorites: August 29th

Are you looking for a new book? Interested in what your friends and neighbors might be reading? The following books are current best-sellers this week at the Lake Forest Book Store:

News of the World – Paulette Jiles
In the aftermath of the Civil War, an aging itinerant news reader agrees to transport a young captive of the Kiowa back to her people in this exquisitely rendered, morally complex, multilayered novel of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

The Alice Network – Kate Quinn
Two women, a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947 are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.

They May Not Mean To, But They Do – Cathleen Schine
The Bergman clan has always stuck together, growing as it incorporated in-laws, ex-in-laws, and same-sex spouses. But families don’t just grow, they grow old, and the clan’s matriarch, Joy, is not slipping into old age with the quiet grace her children, Molly and Daniel, would have wished.

Make Your Bed – Admiral William H. McRaven
On May 17, 2014, Admiral McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their Commencement day. Taking inspiration from the university’s slogan, “What starts here changes the world,” he shared the ten principles he learned during Navy Seal training that helped him overcome challenges not only in his training and long Naval career, but also throughout his life.

Red Notice – Bill Browder
This is a story about an accidental activist. Bill Browder started out his adult life as the Wall Street maverick whose instincts led him to Russia just after the breakup of the Soviet Union, where he made his fortune.

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth – Christopher Scotton
Timely and timeless, this is a dramatic and deeply moving novel about an act of violence in a small, Southern town and the repercussions that will forever change a young man’s view of human cruelty and compassion.

Lilac Girls – Martha Hall Kelly
For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

The Last Days of Night – Graham Moore
New York, 1888. Gas lamps still flicker in the city streets, but the miracle of electric light is in its infancy. The person who controls the means to turn night into day will make history and a vast fortune. A young untested lawyer named Paul Cravath, takes a case that seems impossible to win. Paul’s client, George Westinghouse, has been sued by Thomas Edison over a billion-dollar question: Who invented the light bulb and holds the right to power the country?

The One-in-A-Million Boy – Monica Wood
The story of your life never starts at the beginning. Don’t they teach you anything at school?
So says 104-year-old Ona to the 11-year-old boy who’s been sent to help her out every Saturday morning. As he refills the bird feeders and tidies the garden shed, Ona tells him about her long life, from first love to second chances.

A Tale for the Time Being – Ruth Ozeki
In Tokyo, sixteen-year-old Nao has decided there’s only one escape from her aching loneliness and her classmates’ bullying. But before she ends it all, Nao plans to document the life of her great grandmother, a Buddhist nun who’s lived more than a century. A diary is Nao’s only solace and will touch lives in ways she can scarcely imagine.

-Claire

September Cookbook Club

Our theme for Cookbook Club in September will be Cook Like a Celebrity!

We all watch our favorite celebrity chefs on TV, so now it’s time to try out one of their recipes for yourself! This month you’ll choose a dish from Ina Garten, Mario Batali, Martha Stewart, and many more. Be a star in your own kitchen and bring your show-stopping dish to share with the group!

Selected cookbooks will be on display at the Library at least two weeks prior to the club meeting. Come browse and pick a recipe to make. Bring your finished dish to Book Club, and sample everyone’s delicious foods while discussing the topic.

Cookbook Club will meet on Wednesday September 13th at 7:00pm in the Spruth Room. If you have any questions, please feel free to stop by the Library and talk to Carrie.

Martha Stewart’s Cookies – Martha Stewart
The editors of Martha Stewart Living give you 175 recipes and variations that showcase all kinds of flavors and fancies to make the perfect cookie for any occasion.

Barefoot Contessa Foolproof – Ina Garten
The Food Network star takes easy a step further, sharing her secrets for pulling off deeply satisfying meals that have that “wow!” factor we all crave.

The Pioneer Woman Cooks Dinnertime –  Ree Drummond
For families juggling school, work, and a host of other time-consuming daily obligations, the idea of making dinner from scratch can be daunting. Ree Drummond makes it easy for families to make simple, scrumptious, homemade meals with minimum fuss and maximum enjoyment.

Guy Fieri Family Food – Guy Fieri
The Food Network superstar and New York Times bestselling author dishes up flavorful All-American family-friendly meals for weeknights and weekends alike.

Paula Deen Cuts the Fat – Paula Deen
Paula shares 250 of her favorite recipes lightened up. This brand new cookbook presents lightened up versions of fifty of her classic southern recipes and presents new recipes that cuts the calories but not the delicious taste.

Wolfgang Puck Makes it Healthy – Wolfgang Puck
Wolfgang Puck offers more than 100 health-conscious recipes, some modified classics from his earlier classics; others brand new. Readers will find flavorful food for every meal, including snacks and desserts, inspired by Mexican, Asian, Italian, Indian, and French cuisine.

Trisha’s Table – Trisha Yearwood
Trisha wants to feed her loved ones—and yours, too—food that tastes good and food that’s good for you. So pull up a seat at Trisha’s Table and dig in!

Mario Batali’s Big American Cookbook – Mario Batali
Over two years in the making, with Batali searching for truly delicious dishes from all corners of the US, this definitive cookbook features the best America has to offer.

Around the Table – Martina McBride
The widely acclaimed country music megastar Martina McBride invites fans into her home, her kitchen, and her family’s traditions in this, her first-ever book complete with cherished recipes and menus for cooking and entertaining at home.

-Claire

September New Releases

FICTION

1. Little Fires Everywhere – Celeste Ng
2. The girl who takes an eye for an eye – David Lagercrantz
3. Love and other consolation prizes – Jamie Ford
4. A column of Fire – Ken Follett
5. Don’t Let Go – Harlan Coben
6. To be where you are – Jan Karon
7. The Cuban Affair – Nelson DeMille
8. A legacy of spies – John Le Carre
9. George & Lizzie – Nancy Pearl

 

NON FICTION

 

1. 5 Minute Sketching – Landscapes by Virginia Hein
2. Braving the Wilderness by Brene Brown
3. The Four Tendencies by Gretchen Rubin
4. The Last Castle by Denise Kiernan
5. No Room for Small Dreams by Shimon Peres
6. Ranger Games by Ben Blum
7. Something Beautiful Happened by Yvette Corporon
8. The Vietnam War by Geoffrey Ward/Ken Burns
9. The Woman Who Smashed Codes by Jason Fagone

JUVENILE FICTION

1. Wishtree by Katherine Applegate
2. Patina by Jason Reynolds
3. A Tale of Two Kitties by Dav Pilkey
4. Missy Piggle-Wiggle and the Won’t-Walk-the-Dog-Cure by Ann M. Martin
5. Tigerheart’s Shadow by Erin Hunter
6. All’s Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson
7. Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling
8. Rainy Day Unicorn by Dana Simpson
9. Dawn and the Impossible Three by Gail Galligan

 

TEEN FICTION

1. Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart
2. Warcross by Marie Lu
3. Release by Patrick Ness
4. Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore
5. There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins
6. Invictus by Ryan Graudin

 

DVD

1. Beatriz at Dinner
2. Chicago P.D.: Season Four
3. Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
4 .Megan Leavey
5. Rare: Creatures of the Photo Ark
6. Silicon Valley: Season Four
7. This is Us: Season One
8. Karen Kingbury’s A Time to Dance
9. The Vietnam War: Ken Burns

 

CD

1 All Shook Up by Cheap Trick
2. Best of Kathleen Battle by Kathleen Battle
3. Give More Love by Ringo Starr
4. Now by Shania Twain
5. Real Julio Iglesias by Julio Eglesias
6. Winwood Greatest Hits Live by Steve Winwood

 

 

November Book Club

House at the End of Hope Street (Nov)
Summary: When Alba Ashby, the youngest Ph.D. student at Cambridge University, suffers the Worst Event of Her Life, she finds herself at the door of 11 Hope Street. There, a beautiful older woman named Peggy invites Alba to stay on the house’s unusual conditions: she’ll have ninety-nine nights, and no more, to turn her life around. Once inside, Alba discovers that 11 Hope Street is no ordinary house. Past residents include Virginia Woolf, Dorothy Parker, and Agatha Christie, who all stayed there at hopeless times in their lives and who still hang around—quite literally—in talking portraits on the walls.

Read-Alikes: If you’re looking for more books like this one, here are some to consider: The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Pepper, The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin, Trespasser by Tana French, The Coincident of the Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert, First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen, and The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan.

Book Club: The House at the End of Hope Street will be our November selection for book club. Carol’s book discussion will be on Tuesday November 21st at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

October Book Club

My Life on the Road (Oct)
Summary: When Gloria Steinem was a young girl, her father would pack the family in the car every fall and drive across country searching for adventure and trying to make a living. Gloria realized that growing up didn’t have to mean settling down. And so began a lifetime of travel, of activism and leadership, of listening to people whose voices and ideas would inspire change and revolution.

Read-Alikes: If you’re seeking more books by women authors or women’s interest topics, here are a few more you might like too. Notorious RBG by Irin Carman, The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan, The Color Purple by Alice Walker, The Handmaid’s Tail by Margaret Atwood, Just Kids by Patti Smith, and Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham.

Book Club: My Life on the Road is our October selection for Book Club. Carol’s book discussion will be held on Tuesday October 17th at 2:30pm in the Spruth Room. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found on MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire

September Book Club

Last Days of Night (Sept)
Summary: New York, 1888. Gas lamps still flicker in the city streets, but the miracle of electric light is in its infancy. The person who controls the means to turn night into day will make history—and a vast fortune. A young untested lawyer named Paul Cravath, fresh out of Columbia Law School, takes a case that seems impossible to win. Paul’s client, George Westinghouse, has been sued by Thomas Edison over a billion-dollar question: Who invented the light bulb and holds the right to power the country?

Read-Alikes: If you enjoyed reading this book, here are some more that might interest you. The News of the World by Paulette Jiles, Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann, Before the Fall by Noah Hawley, Moonglow by Michael Chabon, The Nix by Nathan Hill, and The Lost Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith.

Book Club: The Last Days of Night will be our September selection for Book Club. Carol’s discussion will be held on Tuesday September 19th at 2:30pm. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk and downloadable versions can be found through MyMediaMall and Hoopla.

-Claire